Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:47 pm



Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions 
Author Message
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:28 pm
Posts: 455
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
That leaves the question; what kind of attack is the screams?
Is the argument that it happens in the shooting fase invalid?

Since the screams are so strong (OP) I would still argue that it protects against them.

_________________
W/D/L:
12/2/5


Tactical Thoughts
Modelling Madness
War-Cup Reports


Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:56 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
It's a special attack. Thats the kind of attack it is. It doesn't fit any category so category specific defenses will not work against it.

As for screams being strong... I always found them underwhelming. Terrorgheists crumple fast with enough firepower. CoT master should kill one on the charge. Banshees would be trickier being inside units but they're slow and easy to predict where they'll be a threat.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Tue Dec 03, 2013 7:41 pm
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 18
Regarding the Medusas gaze. The RB says -1 for multiple shots, but that is for a weapon with multiple shots. Fail to see how the medusa rules states it is using a weapon with the multiple shots option. Does she have the option to use single shot ?


Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:25 am
Profile
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Posts: 8372
Location: The Dragon Caves of the Underway (Indianapolis IN)
The profile on page 48 of the Army book indicates that the Gaze is subject to the Multiple Shots (4) rule. A -1 to hit is part of that rule, and the Gaze therefore suffers even if it is not a separate "weapon" in the conventional sense. Note that the Multiple Shots rule is permissive, not mandatory, and so single shot with no modifier is an option (not one worth taking though).

_________________
Truly These are the End Times ...


Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:51 am
Profile WWW
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 18
Regarding Terror Gheist screams Im with Gerner. Very raw to say the cloak doesen`t protect agains it. "A special atack" in the shooting phase but not a shooting atack or magical atack, just special. And as for Terror Gheist beeing underwhelming - not my experience at all. Two TG rolling 7 ( + 6 wounds ) = 13. With ld9 that is 4+4 wounds no armor save. Kills just about any lord build there is doesen`t it ? And takes out 8 knights. Pretty strong if you ask me.


Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:54 pm
Profile
Dark Rider

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 10:28 pm
Posts: 147
Location: Canada
Do warlocks get to channel like other wizards?

_________________
Lord Admiral, Creedence Vendral, Commander of the Black Arc Murderous Pride.


Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:09 pm
Profile
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Posts: 8372
Location: The Dragon Caves of the Underway (Indianapolis IN)
Yes.

_________________
Truly These are the End Times ...


Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:37 pm
Profile WWW
Slave on the Altar
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:26 pm
Posts: 2
Q: How does the Lore of Beasts attribute work on
a Cauldron of Blood, Bloodwrack Shrine or the
unit containing either of these?
A: The Lore attribute (RB p.493) makes spells
easier to cast only on beasts, or creatures attuned
to the wilderness. As neither the Cauldron nor
Shrine are pulled by any beast, they do not
benefit from the Beasts Lore Attribute, nor grant
this benefit to the unit they reside in"

Your wrong on this as the lore attribute states it works on war beasts, cavalry, monstrous beasts,monstrous cavalry , monsters , swarms and CHARIOTS which the CoB and BwS are both chariots so benefit from the lore attribute.

Also the : Q: Kouran's armour strikes back "immediately".
May it prevent the incoming hit from being
resolved?
A: No, the attacks are resolved completely (to-hit,
to-wound, saves) before the strike back occurs.

the Str 5 hit via armour goes before the to wound roll of the attacker the "immediately" means just that other wise it would it would be " for each hit Kouran suffers after to wound rolls have been made the attacking model suffer a Str 5 hit" so the hits from the armour happen "immediately" after being hit not after to wound rolls are made .


Sat Jul 12, 2014 8:21 am
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8560
Location: Hag Graef
Welcome dreadlord_draichnyr to D.net!
dreadlord_draichnyr wrote:
Q: How does the Lore of Beasts attribute work on
a Cauldron of Blood, Bloodwrack Shrine or the
unit containing either of these?
A: The Lore attribute (RB p.493) makes spells
easier to cast only on beasts, or creatures attuned
to the wilderness. As neither the Cauldron nor
Shrine are pulled by any beast, they do not
benefit from the Beasts Lore Attribute, nor grant
this benefit to the unit they reside in"

Your wrong on this as the lore attribute states it works on war beasts, cavalry, monstrous beasts,monstrous cavalry , monsters , swarms and CHARIOTS which the CoB and BwS are both chariots so benefit from the lore attribute.
You could have been right but you forgot to read the attribute's first sentence.
P. 493, Beast Lore attribute reads exactly:
"Spells from the Lore of Beasts are easier to cast on beasts..."
p.85, Chariots read: "A chariot is a wheeled war vehicle drawm into battle by beasts of some kind..."
and our AB p.47 tells that COB is pulled by no beast, but by The Will Of Gods.

In Druchii.net, we do not want to fall into the blasphemy :burns: of considering that Gods are beasts of some kind. As there is no beast, the spell attribute should NOT be easier to cast, according to the spell's very description.
Note that it can be both a benefit and a hindrance, as both sides could use Lore of Beasts.

-=-=-

About Kouran, we looked deeply in the BRB and found nothing which would tell that to hit, to wound and to save armour is not simultaneous.
Therefore, we understand "immediately" to be mean at the same Initiative (as explained in BRB p.50, extreme left column), which does not prevent wounding and saving, however it does postpone a little bit dying.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sat Jul 12, 2014 6:51 pm
Profile
Slave on the Altar
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:26 pm
Posts: 2
The empire steam tank as well as the corpse cart both chariots but you as saying no to lore of beasts being easier to cast on them either due to the fluff part of the lore attribute ? Because other wise it would state "although the CoB ,BwS are chariots they are not counted as being one for the targeting purposes of spells "
Will of the gods is just an explanation to how the CoB is even able to move.


Sun Jul 13, 2014 2:16 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8560
Location: Hag Graef
I didn't think about the STank & corpse kart indeed.
I like to play as logical as Fantasy can be, and a STank or a corpse kart, having no beast inside, should not be liable to Beasts attribute either.

Note that ruling the COB & BwS to be liable to Beast attribute due to being chariots is certainly possible, it is just that it was contrary to fluff, and the sentences I quoted above allowed us to back up the fluff.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sun Jul 13, 2014 7:25 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
The point was, if we were to write an FAQ for Empire and Vampire Counts, we'd probably say that Steam Tank and Corpse Cart aren't affected by Beasts Magic attribute either.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:52 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software