Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:42 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Arabian Carpet and Assassins 
Author Message
Noble

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:34 pm
Posts: 470
Location: Somewhere secret somewhere safe
The Arabian Carpet magic item says "The owner has Fly special rule but may not join units". Does hiding in a unit count as joining said unit? Or can you hide an assassin with the arabian carpet in a unit? If you can, then would an assassin with the Arabian Carpet need to immediately leave the unit once revealed?

_________________
-JGB

Group 42 - Harkyl Anroc - Shade
WS: 5 / S: 2 / T: 2 / D: 5 / I: 5
Equipment: Staff, Throwing Knives
Inventory: Mysterious Map
Skills: Awareness, Basic Stealth, Defensive Fighting


Sat Feb 08, 2014 7:05 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend

Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1294
Location: UmeƄ, Sweden
I would argue that the carpet prevents the assassin from hiding in the unit, and you would have to deploy it normally instead.


Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:23 am
Profile
Online
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8560
Location: Hag Graef
1. Let's review the rules:
BRB p.505 Arabyan Carpet: "The owner cannot join units".
BRB p.97 Joining units: "To join a unit a character must move into base contact with it during the movement phase."
BRB p.142 Deployment: "Characters may be set up in separate locations or units in their deployment zone." (note that FAQ leads to understand that "set up in units" means "to join units").
AB p.36 Assassin hidden deployment: "assassin can be deployed "hidden" in an infantry unit. ... A hidden assassin can be revealed... place him like you would do if a character joined the unit."


2. There are two approaches.

2.1. RAI, the carpet obviously prevents the assassin to be deployed inside the unit. If he selected to be hidden, he would never ever be able to be revealed at all, becoming useless.
Therefore, the only way to use a flying assassin is to deploy him alone in the deployment zone, and to play him alone thereafter.

2.2. RAW, along with a ruthless RAW lawyering approach, you could try and argue the following:
Note that "the owner cannot join units" means that it cannot start inside a unit nor join later on.
However, it does not mean that the owner cannot "be" in a unit, only "joining" is prohibited (that's where the argument plays on words and lacks sincerity).
Note also that the hidden deployment is not described as "joining" a unit.
Note that revealing the assassin is described "like if" it was a character joining, the word "if" means that it is not an actual joining process, and as a matter of fact, revealing is not at all the same as joining, as described p.97; anyway AB>BRB, AB describes a new way to find itself inside a unit, which is not "joining".
Therefore, a carpet assassin could well be deployed hidden in a unit (that's not "joining"), he could be later on revealed (that's not "joining" either) and remain there as long as he wish (still not "joining").
In the same way, he could find himself inside the unit thanks to "Smoke & Mirrors" Shadows attribute (which is not "joining", once more), and there again, he would be able to remain as long as he wishes.
Obviously this approach is borderline cheating, despite arguably IAW RAW. It will not help you to win a fair play reputation, and I'm not convinced that an opponent would even agree to toss a die on that.


3. Conclusion.
The assassin with a carpet should never be deployed hidden, and should never join any unit afterwards.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:56 am
Profile
Warrior

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:07 am
Posts: 74
Calisson, I would like to note that I really appreciate the way you approach rules questions.


Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:50 pm
Profile
Online
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8560
Location: Hag Graef
Thanks! :)

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:51 pm
Profile
Noble

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:34 pm
Posts: 470
Location: Somewhere secret somewhere safe
Thanks calisson, very informative and interesting. Oh well, there goes that hope.

_________________
-JGB

Group 42 - Harkyl Anroc - Shade
WS: 5 / S: 2 / T: 2 / D: 5 / I: 5
Equipment: Staff, Throwing Knives
Inventory: Mysterious Map
Skills: Awareness, Basic Stealth, Defensive Fighting


Sat Feb 08, 2014 2:35 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software