Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:30 pm



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
[FAQ] FAQ v1.0 Comparison 
Author Message
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 3830
Location: Belgium, Brussels
At Ulthuan, some people made a list of all FAQs available and compared their answers. I thought it would be interesting to do this for our own FAQ and see other takes on the same questions. I listed our questions, and matched them with the answers of others.

Perhaps it would be good to add a list of communities and their feedback to detect which Q&A are opposed and why.


Other FAQs used in comparison
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 - External link
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 - External link
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 - External Link
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ - External Link
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 - External Link


The next steps?


It could be interesting to add two more steps to this process:
1) Include questions, and our answers to Q&A's revelant to DE's posted in other FAQs but not our own.

2) Include feedback from other communities. Of course, it may not be possible to sum up a debate in a few words, so I propose the following codes:
- No answer
- Consensus agreement
- Consensus disagreement
- In dispute, link to the debate


The FAQ Comparison

Armywide rules

Q: Always Strike First and Always Strike Last cancel out. What if the unit gets another ASF or ASL from additional source?
A: Special Rules don't stack (RB FAQ p.66). Units that already have ASF or ASL benefit in no way from a second application of the same rule.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Same answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 Same answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 Same answer

Q: What is a High Elf (for Hatred re-rolls)?
A: Any unit entry from Warhammer Armies: High Elves.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Does not include Great Eagles, Phoenixes, Dragons and Griffons
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer



Assassins (p.36)

Q: Can Assassins wear magic armour?
A: Yes, their magic allowance does not restrict magic armor.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: The Arabyan Carpet prevents owner to join any unit. But is Assassin deployment considered "joining"?
A: Yes, so the Assassin carrying the Arabyan Carpet may not be hidden.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Can an Assassin be hidden in a unit of scouting Shades?
A: Yes.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: May an Assassin charge in turn 1 after being deployed in Shades scouting at 12" from the enemy?
A: No. Characters are subject to movement restrictions of the unit they are part of.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Do ranged attacks of an Assassin with the Dark Venom benefit from Killing Blow?
A: No. Dark Venom doesn't specify it applies to ranged attacks.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Normal poison is not allowed on magic weapons. Would Forbidden Poison be allowed?
A: Yes. Forbidden Poisons do not grant Poisoned Attacks special rule, which is the rule specifically forbidden on magic weapons.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Scourgerunner (p.38)

Q: The Scourgerunner is pulled by Dark Steeds. Dark Steeds have the Fast Cavalry rule. Should the Scourgerunner have Fast Cavalry rule?
A: No. The Dark Steeds pulling the Scourgerunner have their own profile that does not include the Fast Cavalry rule.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: Does the Harpoon have the Slow to Fire special rule? Does it shoot in the front arc?
A: Yes to both.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: Does a Scourgerunner pivot to face its target before firing the Harpoon?
A: No. The Scourgerunner is a Chariot, not a War Machine.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: Is armour save allowed against the Harpoon?
A: Yes, modified by its S7 of course.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: May the Harpoon kill several ranks?
A: Yes, with its Strength reduced by 1 for each penetrated rank, as a Bolt Thrower.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: When Scourgerunner a drags a monster, does the monster rotate to face it?
A: No.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: How many Crossbows can shoot from a Scourgerunner Chariot?
A: Each weapon needs a crew member to operate it. There are three weapons (Crossbows, Harpoon) and only a crew of two.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer



Witchbrew (p.46)

Q: What happens in case some models had already Frenzy and some models did not? What happens when the Death Hag dies? When she leaves her unit? If the DH has been beaten in combat?
A: The models in the unit (including the Death Hag) only gain +2 Attacks and suffer -3 to Leadership when testing not to declare a charge if every model in the unit already had the Frenzy special rule. Witchbrew only affects the unit that the Death Hag is currently with, and the effects are lost if the Death Hag dies or leaves the unit. The effects of Witchbrew are permanently lost if the Death Hag is beaten in combat (whether on her own or in a unit).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Previously Frenzied models get +2 and non-Frenzied +1 attacks from their Frenzy. The unit gets -3 to Berserk Rage tests only if the majority would be frenzied without the Witchbrew.
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ if a Death Hag has the Witchbrew in a unit that is not already frenzied, then the unit will test on it's normal Ld value, without the -3 modifier due to the Witchbrew.
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 If more than one model with witchbrew (or whichbrew + Tullaris) is in the same unit, the effects are not cumulative (i.e. only +1 A). The effect provided by Witchbrew only applies to the unit that a model with this rule is currently in and the effect is lost permanently if the unit is beaten in combat.




Q: If a Death Hag charges out of a unit Frenzied due to Witchbrew, does the unit still need to take a Leadership test to avoid charging?
A: No. If the Death Hag declares her own charge, the unit is ineligible to make a charge (RB p.101).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 A different question has a relevant answer. Q: Can frenzied units avoid the leadership test by declaring a charge? A: Yes.
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 A different question has a relevant answer. Q: Can frenzied units avoid the leadership test by declaring a charge? A: Yes.

Strength of Khaine (p.47)

Q: Does this rule benefit to spells? Shooting? Chariot impact hits? Mounts?
A: As Strength of Khaine applies only to models with Murderous Prowess, apply the limitations of Murderous Prowess to Strength of Khaine, treating it as an extra buff to that rule. Spells, missiles, chariot impacts, mounts attacks do not benefit from Strength of Khaine.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Same answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No, Only attacks made in the close combat phase are affected by this rule.
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ The re-rolls apply to any roles to wound. This included magic and shooting attacks
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 Same answer

Q: Does Strength of Khaine allow rerolls for models out of 6" bubble?
A: Yes, as long as at least one model is within 6", the entire unit gains the benefit.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Will of Gods (p.47)

Q: What happens if the unit joined by Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine has an even number of columns?
A: The Cauldron/Shrine joins the unit and is placed in the front rank as centrally as possible. It is OK to have one file more on one side than the other but no more than that.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: May a by Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine displace a command group model? (RB p.97)
A: Yes, it is forced to remain in the center of the front rank, overriding basic rules.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: What happens if a by Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine joins a unit of Fast Cavalry? (RB p.68)
A: The combined unit loses the Fast Cavalry rule.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: May a by Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine join a unit of skirmishers? (RB p.77)
A: No. Cauldron of Blood and Bloodwrack Shrine should be treated as mounted characters when joining units.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Same answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: May a Bloodwrack Shrine join a Cauldron of Blood, or two Shrines or Cauldrons join together?
A: No. Will of the Gods rule prevents it.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How do I place a Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine in units when footprints collide, i.e. with cavalry or a Bloodwrack Medusa? (RB p.98)
A: The Cauldron or Shrine is placed in the middle of the unit and the unit is formed around it. The third rank and on will be a little lopsided, but it's fine. A Medusa joined by a Shrine/COB must be side by side in the front rank. All rules for colliding footprints RB p.98 still apply.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 If in multiple ranks, the unit joined needs to be at least 60mm wide to be joinable.
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Can a unit containing a Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine make a combat reform to face an opponent to the side or rear? (RB p.55)
A: Yes. Combat reform will take place in two steps: 1. Reform the unit so that no models in base contact with the enemy are removed from base contact. 2. Rearrange the command group, characters, and the Cauldron/Shrine so that all those models which must be in first rank go in first rank, replacing models as necessary.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Can a Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine Make Way?
A: The Bloodwrack Shrine can never use the "Make Way" rule, as it is not a character. The Cauldron of Blood can use the "Make Way" rule only if the character on the Cauldron of Blood is still alive, if the unit it resides in has a compatible footprint and if the move keeps the Cauldron of Blood in the center of the unit. For example, if the Cauldron of Blood has 3 models on the right and 4 models on the left, "Make Way" can be used to put 4 models on the right and 3 models on the left.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Can a Cauldron of Blood remain in a unit if the Death Hag is slain?
A: Yes. The Cauldron can remain in the unit as it has the rule allowing it to join. The character is irrelevant in this case.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Is an infantry unit joined by a Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine immune to Stomp/Thunderstomp? (RB p.76, FAQ p.42)
A: No. The unit can be Stomped, but only the infantry models can be harmed.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Same answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How do magic effects/spells affect a Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine and unit?
A: As if they were characters joining units (RB P.99). Inside a unit it is subject to all spells on the unit, and when it leaves the unit it loses the spell effects on the unit.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How does the combined unit move?
A: Lowest M in the unit, Swiftstride only if every model in the unit has that special rule (RB p.99).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How does the combined unit charge?
A: Just like a unit with a character. Even the shrine may charge alone out of a unit. For a combined charge, use slowest M and no Swiftstride unless the entire unit has that special rule (RB p.101/106).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How does BS shooting work against the combined unit?
A: Per characters of different troop type in units rules (RB p.99), the Cauldron/Shrine can be hit by BS shooting but can't be hit more than once until every model in the unit has had a single hit allocated to it as well.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How does template shooting work?
A: As a unit containing a character of a different troop type. The Look-Out-Sir! rule does not apply. (RB p.99).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Which Leadership value is used?
A: The highest value in the unit (RB p.100).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How does the Lore of Beasts attribute work on a Cauldron of Blood, Bloodwrack Shrine or the unit containing either of these?
A: The Lore attribute (RB p.493) makes spells easier to cast only on beasts, or creatures attuned to the wilderness. As neither the Cauldron nor Shrine are pulled by any beast, they do not benefit from the Beasts Lore Attribute, nor grant this benefit to the unit they reside in.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: How does Life spell #5 Regrowth work on a Cauldron of Blood, Bloodwrack Shrine or the unit containing either of these?
A: Life #5 Regrowth (RB p.496) does not work on characters nor mounts, and so will not work on a Cauldron of Blood (but Lifebloom Lore attribute works on a Cauldron). The spell will work as usual on a unit joined by a Cauldron. Keep in mind that a Bloodwrack Shrine is not a character for any purpose other than joining units, so it can be healed by regrowth.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Shrine and Medusa (p.48)

Q: Is the gaze magical shooting resolved like a spell or like a missile?
A: It is shooting, therefore long range, multiple shots, move & shoot penalties apply. The model cannot march and shoot, but can stand & shoot.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Is the Medusa a character?
A: No. She is part of the crew.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Is it possible to take 2 Medusas and 2 Shrines below 3000pts?
A: Yes. They are two different unit choices.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Kharibdyss (p.52)

Q: What happens when an opposing unit in base to base contact with a Kharibdyss is in range of the Battle Standard Bearer?
A: The effects cancel and the first roll of a Leadership test will stand.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: What happens if the Kharibdyss' Feast of Bones targets one specific Rank and File model?
A: Any hits caused by the Feast of Bones may not cause damage to any model other than the targeted one. For example, a Kharibdyss allocates all of its attacks against an Ogre Irongut and hits with all of them, triggering Feast of Bones which causes additional 4 hits. Because the ogre only has 3 wounds, roll the feast of bones hits separately, and if you cause more than 3 wounds the excess is lost. The regular attacks can spill over onto the rest of the unit (unless the targeted model was the champion, of course).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Lokhir Fellheart (p.58)

Q: Does the target of Daring Leap have to be in base contact with Lokhir's unit?
A: No, it is enough to be inside a unit in same combat. It works even if that unit is not in contact with Lokhir's unit (see RB p.59 first sentence: "same" close combat).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: In order to use his Daring Leap, is Lokhir required to be in base contact with some enemy?
A: Yes. A model not in base contact has no attack. One exception, he may still make a daring leap with a single, supporting attack from being in the 2nd rank. Of course, Lokhir can Make Way! and swap position with a Rank and File model (RB p.100) before Leaping.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: May Lokhir attack an enemy who is in a challenge with another character?
A: No, a model in a challenge may not be attacked except by the other model in the challenge (RB p.102).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Armour of Grief (Kouran) (p.59)

Q: Kouran's armour strikes back "immediately". May it prevent the incoming hit from being resolved?
A: No, the attacks are resolved completely (to-hit, to-wound, saves) before the strike back occurs.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Khaine's Sacred Slaughterer (Tullaris) (p.60)

Q: What happens when Tullaris dies? When he leaves his unit? If he has been beaten in combat?
A: Frenzy is lost if Tullaris dies or leaves the unit. The effects of the rule Khaine's Sacred Slaughterer is also permanently lost if the he is beaten in combat (whether on his own or in a unit).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ Same answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Dark Magic (p.61)

Q: What if you roll a double and a triple for Dark Magic attribute?
A: Only the effect of the triple is resolved—3D6 "instead of" 2D6.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Same answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ Same answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Q: If a Sorceress suffers a wound from Power of Darkness, can she take a ward save?
A: Yes, the Sorceress also benefits from any Magic Resistance she might have.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Can Word of Pain reduce WS/BS to 0?
A: Yes.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: The Soul Stealer template cannot target a friendly unit or a unit in combat. But what happens if it scatters on them?
A: It will damage whoever is under the template. Druchii Sorceresses will take anyone's souls. Magic objects (p.62)
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Attacks of the Chillblade wound automatically. Does it also hit automatically?
A: No. Roll to hit as usual.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Does the Ring of Hotek cause a miscast on a roll of double 1 if the spell's casting value was not met or spell was dispelled?
A: Yes to both.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: Does Cloak of Twilight it work against Special Attacks like the Terrorgiests/Banshee Howl & Hexwraith/Screamer pass through/over attacks?
A: No, Banshee/Terrorgheist screams (and all other "special attacks done in the shooting phase") will ignore the Cloak as it protects from shooting attacks and spells but the screams are neither.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: If you choose a spell with Tome of Furion, and when you randomize other spells, you get the same spell again, do you have to change it to any other spell?
A: Yes. Tome of Furion does not allow duplication of spells (RB p.490).
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Same answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Q: When exactly do you select your spell via Tome of Furion?
A: During normal spell selection for the wizard with the Tome of Furion, either before or after rolling for the other spells.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Before rolling for spells
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

Corsair’s options (p.91)

Q: Does the Reaver need to pay for a reapeater handbow if he takes the brace?
A: Yes. All models in the unit, including the Reaver, must take the same option, so a Reaver with a brace in a unit equipped with repeater hand bows costs 9+2+10+4=25 pts.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 No answer
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

_________________
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze


Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:28 pm
Profile WWW
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Great idea!
I think it would also be good to compare release dates of the FAQs to see if our rulings are being propagated.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 8:56 am
Posts: 423
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Good work Daeron

_________________
Interesting threads from the past:
BG Executioners Axe List:
Facing Ogres:
Facing WoC:
Effective use of Magic
Tips Using Harpies:


Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:42 pm
Profile
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 3510
Location: Investigating Mantica
Thanks Daeron, very helpful to have it all in one place and to see the comparable answers.

_________________
My Kings of War Plog - Forces of Nature

My Kings of War Plog - Twilight Kin / Nightstalkers


Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:51 pm
Profile
Cold One Knight
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 10:31 am
Posts: 218
Location: Queensland - Australia
Wow, great work, thanks for putting in the time :D


Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:34 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend

Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1294
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Interesting comparison! Found an error though:

Quote:

Q: How do I place a Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine in units when footprints collide, i.e. with cavalry or a Bloodwrack Medusa? (RB p.98)
A: The Cauldron or Shrine is placed in the middle of the unit and the unit is formed around it. The third rank and on will be a little lopsided, but it's fine. A Medusa joined by a Shrine/COB must be side by side in the front rank. All rules for colliding footprints RB p.98 still apply.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 If in multiple ranks, the unit joined needs to be at least 60mm wide to be joinable.
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer


Actually, the ETC FAQ forbids joining the Cauldron or Shrine if the footprints collide:

Quote:
14.3. Q: Can Cauldron of Blood or Bloodwrack Shrine join Skirmishers or units with mismatching bases, like cavalry?
A: No. If in multiple ranks, the unit joined needs to be at least 60mm wide to be joinable.


Wed Apr 09, 2014 1:45 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 3830
Location: Belgium, Brussels
Hm. Because the question is in two parts I interpreted the answer's two parts as follows:
- No, it can not join Skirmishers
- It can join units with mismacthing bases, if the unit joined is at least 60mm wide when it has multiple ranks.

Or does this have to be interpreted as:
- No, it can not join Skirmishers
- No, it can not join units with mismatching bases
- Yes, it may join a unit with matching base sizes if the unit joined is at least 60mm wide when it has multiple ranks.
This seems like a sensible interpretation, but there is no mention units with matching base sizes anywhere in their answer, so it seemed weird to expand the context to include a unit that isn't part of the question.

Perhaps we can ask them a clarification?

_________________
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze


Wed Apr 09, 2014 3:19 pm
Profile WWW
Noble

Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 10:34 pm
Posts: 470
Location: Somewhere secret somewhere safe
Dearon, this is awesome! thanks for putting it together, all in one place!!!

This ETC one frustrates me... a bunch of high elves running it.

Q: What is a High Elf (for Hatred re-rolls)?
A: Any unit entry from Warhammer Armies: High Elves.
Other FAQs:
- ETC FAQ 2014 v 1.13 Does not include Great Eagles, Phoenixes, Dragons and Griffons
- Direwolf FAQ 2013 No answer
- SCGT 2014 v1.6 No answer
- Crossroads GT 2014 FAQ No answer
- US Masters Rules Committee v1.3 No answer

_________________
-JGB

Group 42 - Harkyl Anroc - Shade
WS: 5 / S: 2 / T: 2 / D: 5 / I: 5
Equipment: Staff, Throwing Knives
Inventory: Mysterious Map
Skills: Awareness, Basic Stealth, Defensive Fighting


Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:43 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend

Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 8:12 am
Posts: 1294
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Daeron wrote:
Hm. Because the question is in two parts I interpreted the answer's two parts as follows:
- No, it can not join Skirmishers
- It can join units with mismacthing bases, if the unit joined is at least 60mm wide when it has multiple ranks.

Or does this have to be interpreted as:
- No, it can not join Skirmishers
- No, it can not join units with mismatching bases
- Yes, it may join a unit with matching base sizes if the unit joined is at least 60mm wide when it has multiple ranks.
This seems like a sensible interpretation, but there is no mention units with matching base sizes anywhere in their answer, so it seemed weird to expand the context to include a unit that isn't part of the question.

Perhaps we can ask them a clarification?


The way I interpret it is that there is only a single question ; "Can it join skirmishers or units with Collins footprint?", and the answer is No. The 60mm width requirement is, according to me, a stand-alone extra restriction to avoid having them join units of a single character, for example.


Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:05 pm
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:07 am
Posts: 18
According to ETC FAQ 2014 v. 1.13 a shooting atack is any atack done in the shooting phase. So this should define the Shrieks and Howls as shooting atacks and hence the COT would protect agains them. Or am I reading it wrong ?


Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:54 am
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
No, you're reading it right, it's the ETC FAQ that's wrong, but that's not the first time.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:08 pm
Profile
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2003 6:11 pm
Posts: 275
Location: Cincinnati
Dalamar wrote:
No, you're reading it right, it's the ETC FAQ that's wrong, but that's not the first time.


I am curious what quality makes an attack a shooting attack vs. any other type of attack? What is it that makes a cannon shot a shooting attack (no roll to hit, etc.) vs. the Shriek from a Terrorgheist?

_________________
------

- Pain is Temporary, Knowledge is forever.


Mon Apr 14, 2014 2:45 pm
Profile YIM
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Posts: 3830
Location: Belgium, Brussels
I suppose it's a bit like close combat attacks. There's special attacks and then there's regular close combat attacks. Some benefit from close combat buffs, some do not (provided the buff affects close combat attacks).

_________________
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze


Mon Apr 14, 2014 2:48 pm
Profile WWW
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9664
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
What makes a shooting attack is a rule saying it's a shooting attack. It's really that simple.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:06 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software