Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:02 am



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Hero/lord with a Hyrda?? 
Author Message
Executioner

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 166
I don't know if this topic has been addressed before....but can a lord or hero join up with the hydra's handlers and be apart of that unit??


Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:48 am
Profile
Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 11:34 pm
Posts: 74
Post 
i dont think so not a 100% but pretty sure you cant it would say in the army book if you could like with the chariot


Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:58 am
Profile
Loremaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:30 pm
Posts: 4327
Location: wow, who says I have a location?
Post 
Nope, the rule 'Controlled' states that only beastmasters and apprentices can be around the Hydra.


Sat Jun 09, 2007 2:43 am
Profile
Master of the Red Legion
Master of the Red Legion
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 1:06 pm
Posts: 7037
Location: Land of Chill
Post 
Lethalis wrote:
Nope, the rule 'Controlled' states that only beastmasters and apprentices can be around the Hydra.


Exactly. That being said, if you want a shot at taking on a unit head on with this kind of a combo, you can add the beastmaster with the web of shadows and issue a challenge after charging in the front. If you get lucky, that'll score a few wounds for you and the hydra and apprentices should then be able to win the combat by a couple for you (and after that, it should get a bit easier to stick in the combat).

Now, that's just against basic infantry mind you and its a bit of a one shot pseudo-wonder. ;)

_________________
_
Image
The storm is coming...
Are you ready?


Sat Jun 09, 2007 2:59 pm
Profile WWW
Executioner

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 4:45 pm
Posts: 166
Post 
I never used Web of Shadows, but I may try the combo of beastmaster with hydra unit and give him something else nasty. I have to look at the book and decide..I am not convinced of the effectiveness of WoS


Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:24 pm
Profile
Khaindar
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 1276
Location: Germany
Post 
Its effectiveness varies wildly depending on which opponent you face.

For example it is an excellent tool to rip apart a fragile wizard or accumulate wounds on a weakly armoured and not too tough unit champion in a challenge. On the other hand - against a tank Dwarf the usefulness is diminuished somewhat, of course. :D

_________________
Rezephua - Arena of the Gods - a forum dedicated to the fine art of AoDs


Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:31 pm
Profile ICQ
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 12:19 am
Posts: 2089
Post 
According to the DE book (thanks GW for another crap-tastic effort here) a Bastmaster character may only join a War Hydra unit AFTER one of the regular handlers has been killed. So for the other 99% of the time, the answer is no, a character cannot join.


Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:28 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:56 am
Posts: 2261
Location: Flying my manticore 'Bloodmaw', looking for prey.
Post 
phierlihy wrote:
According to the DE book (thanks GW for another crap-tastic effort here) a Bastmaster character may only join a War Hydra unit AFTER one of the regular handlers has been killed. So for the other 99% of the time, the answer is no, a character cannot join.


:? I don't know how you got that interpretation. :roll:


Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:39 am
Profile
Loremaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 12:30 pm
Posts: 4327
Location: wow, who says I have a location?
Post 
phierlihy wrote:
According to the DE book (thanks GW for another crap-tastic effort here) a Bastmaster character may only join a War Hydra unit AFTER one of the regular handlers has been killed. So for the other 99% of the time, the answer is no, a character cannot join.

I disagree. It says that a beastmaster on foot can join the unit. Replacing a lost apprentice if you wish, but they can still join.


Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:07 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 1239
Location: New Zealand
Post 
Quote:
I disagree. It says that a beastmaster on foot can join the unit. Replacing a lost apprentice if you wish, but they can still join

I agree with this, otherwise you would have your BM runnning around following them waiting for an Apprentice to be knocked off so he/she can take their place. Seems a bit silly like that.

_________________
Want some tips on controlling those frenzied units? http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=71791&highlight=


Wed Jun 13, 2007 12:43 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 10:48 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Australia, the place where kangaroo's hop down the street with a can of fosters in their pouch
Post 
yes the BM can join the hydra at any time
i had to "bite the bullet" once and ring the rulz boys at 'GW and they confirmed it

_________________
you don't know the power of the darkside


Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:24 pm
Profile YIM
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 7:01 pm
Posts: 251
Post 
the question is aprentices get M6 tecnicly when with the hydra

would a beastmaster get the same or would the unit need to slow down.

_________________
Time to toss the dice


Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:47 pm
Profile
Noble
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 8:07 pm
Posts: 451
Post 
It would slow down.

I guess once you are no longer an Apprentice, your old age has slowed you a bit.

_________________
Excuse me. I've come to harvest your flesh.


Sun Jun 17, 2007 11:59 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software