Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 10:37 am



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Sacrificial dagger query 
Author Message
The Tamer of Sea Dragons
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:06 pm
Posts: 403
I was thinking of using this combination in my last GT list but changed my list.

However I never got this question answered, it states the 'sorceress can sacrifice a model in the unit she has joined'. Does this mean I can choose which model is sacrificed, or does the sorceress need to be standing next to the sacrificed model.

The reason why I ask is that I am thinking of having some magic defence by using the ring of hotek even though I have mages. So I am thinking of killing all/most enemy mages before my own spells are affected (rangewise) by the ring e.g. casting word of pain on an enemy within 12" of the ring could be a problem.

If god forbid I don't kill the mages then I am going to need to get rid of the ring, and was wondering if the sacrificial dagger could be used to kill off the black guard champion who is carrying the item, and aslong as the unit is not completely killed, then the enemy still won't get the points for it.

Is this against the rules or am I just being very caniving or very cheesy??

If a UK GT regular (Dalamar) could answer this then would be much appreciated.


Tue Apr 21, 2009 6:47 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 12:19 am
Posts: 2089
Post 
It is allowed. In fact an opponent, I highly encourage you to sacrifice as many Champion or Character models you can.


Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:14 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9675
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Post 
Cool, after attending one GT I'm a regular already :P

And you can choose which model dies to the dagger, heck it can even be a hero. But it makes sense for the model to be in BtB with the sorceress unless she has really long hands.

But if you keep sorceress with the dagger in the same unit as the Ring of Hotek... well, then you're within its range at all times.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Tue Apr 21, 2009 9:49 pm
Profile
The Tamer of Sea Dragons
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:06 pm
Posts: 403
Post 
Don't worry, already planned it all out, lvl2 sorceress with the dagger on a dark steed in a rxb unit, with her on the far end.

She can then move quickly into the black guard unit next to the rxb, stab the champion to cast power of darkness on 2 dice and there goes the ring.

Oh and I thought you had gone to more than one, heck I'm 19 and a more experienced GT player than you lol.


Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:02 pm
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9675
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Post 
I moved to the UK last year :P it wasn't actually possible for me to attend more than one.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Tue Apr 21, 2009 10:47 pm
Profile
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:06 pm
Posts: 286
Location: Bay Area, California
Post 
Just seems like a waste. I usually put the ring central in my line, and try to put any casters outside 12" even if their parent unit is in 12" for protection.


Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:23 pm
Profile WWW
The Tamer of Sea Dragons
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:06 pm
Posts: 403
Post 
Yes colonel I did that last year, however I'm now wanting the ring carrier' unit more forward than my unit last year.
It becomes a problem when trying to cast word of pain on a unit which has movement 12", as I can't charge and I am going to be charged next turn.

This means anything like Ogres, Stegadons, kroxigors, hydras etc.

So the question comes, do I cast it on 2 dice with a small chance of miscast, but with just under 50% chance of failing to cast the spell. Or cast on 3 dice virtually guaranteeing to cast the spell but with a higher chance of getting the double.

And so I would rather guarantee the cast and kill the champion carrying the ring than get a miscast and possibly end the phase, meaning my other lvl2 and lvl4 can't do anything.


Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:44 am
Profile
Brolock
Brolock
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 3:41 am
Posts: 2296
Location: Keeping an eye on Rork and Calisson
Post 
But then your sorceress is in the unit of black guard that is going to get charged. Stuck in combat is about the last place you want her to be.

_________________
+++ Team Mulligans +++

Image

FAQ


Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:05 am
Profile WWW
The Tamer of Sea Dragons
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:06 pm
Posts: 403
Post 
But against something with WS1 I'd fancy my chances in a unit of WS5 ASF Black guard with 10 warrior elite strength 4 attacks and then the mages attack + steed.

Even if I don't kill enough and they do get attacks back, they need 5's to hit and must be in base to base with the sorceress in order to attack her, so I'm not that worried about her dying, anyway you'll see the list when I post it up today. Nobody will be able to get to that unit anyway lol.


Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:32 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software