Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:46 am



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Lokhir Fellhart - Corsairs or Spears? 
Author Message
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 379
Location: Minnesota
Greets:

So I'm really torn: Do I throw Lokhir in with my corsairs so I can use their special roll to catch enemy units and Lokhir's to get double points, or throw them in a big block of spears so he doesn't get magicked, shot to death?

Any thoughts? or other creative places to *ahem* stick Ol' Squiddy?

Thanks!

~B~


Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:22 am
Profile WWW
Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:44 am
Posts: 72
Post 
Lokhir will make a 13 man block of Black Guard into a shooting magnet.

_________________
Sucess isn't permanent, and failure isn't fatal. -Da Coach-


Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:42 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 6:14 am
Posts: 1749
Location: That's for you to know and me to find out! Do I get a hint?
Post 
He is less likely to get shot to death with the corsairs because of their SDC's. And there is little you can do to stop magic without a few sorceresses in your army to dispell. I say put him in corsairs, it was what he was designed for. If your opponent is worried about him they will shoot no matter what unit you put him in.

_________________
Image

Fiat Obsidian - WS5 / S5 / T4 / D5 / I4
Equipment: Halberd, Zukhil Shield, Bastard Sword, Heavy Armour, Seadragon Cloak, Helmet of Slaanesh, Blackthorn Dagger
Mount: Locke (dark steed)
Gold: 488
Skills: Supernatural Awareness, Defensive Fighting, Intimidate, Drukh Kaganth (1)
Class: Warrior


Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:41 am
Profile
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 379
Location: Minnesota
Post 
Thanks, folks. I guess my thoughts run close to Kefka's. I don't think he's the best thing since sliced bread, but he's pretty damn close if I can get a good charge in.

Here's a question: If he charges into the flank, ranks of the enemy still work normally, right? I.E., I count them from the front of the unit? So lets say I'm against a 5x4 block and hit the front with 4 witchelves because the rest got shot up. If I hit the side with Lokhir and the corsairs, he gets a +4 bonus to his attack skill. I think...


Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:20 am
Profile WWW
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:05 am
Posts: 157
Location: Grand Forks North Dakota
Post 
the way it reads it looks like he gets an extra attack per enemy rank, not rank bonus. Your position shouldn't change the way his ranks are calculated

_________________
handsome jack


Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:41 am
Profile
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9675
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Post 
If you hit 1x20 conga-line Lokhir gets +20 attacks.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:30 am
Profile
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 379
Location: Minnesota
Post 
Dalamar wrote:
If you hit 1x20 conga-line Lokhir gets +20 attacks.


Seriously? It doesn't have to be something that is a full rank? Sheesh! I have GOT to go re-read those rules. That is insane! Great tip, Dalamar!

~B~


Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:08 am
Profile WWW
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9675
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Post 
Nope, his bonus isn't based on the enemy unit rank bonus, but ranks. (so he *always* gets at least +1... first rank is a rank too)

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:25 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:56 am
Posts: 2261
Location: Flying my manticore 'Bloodmaw', looking for prey.
Post 
Conversely, hitting in the flanks doesn't get extra attacks on a single ranked opponent... Files don't become ranks.

I say put him in the ASF BG. If he doesn't get to strike first, he's a dead man vs the kind of units my opponents field.

_________________
ImageImage
http://urialsulla.mybrute.com


Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:40 pm
Profile
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:51 am
Posts: 379
Location: Minnesota
Post 
sulla wrote:
Conversely, hitting in the flanks doesn't get extra attacks on a single ranked opponent... Files don't become ranks.



But he'd still get a +1 in your example, right? Because a unit always has at least one rank? Sorry, just trying to wrap my feeble head around this!

~B~


Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:09 am
Profile WWW
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 9675
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons
Post 
Yep, only single models don't have ranks.

_________________
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16


Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:07 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:56 am
Posts: 2261
Location: Flying my manticore 'Bloodmaw', looking for prey.
Post 
Haven't got my book on me right now. Is that right Dal? i've been playing that they still gave the +1...

_________________
ImageImage
http://urialsulla.mybrute.com


Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:27 am
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8723
Location: Hag Graef
Post 
A single model DOES have 1 rank. Incomplete, yes, but that's still 1.
So Lokhir has a pair of weapon which don't allow one additional attack as would a pair of mundane weapons, but do allow one more attack per rank which is a minimum of +1.

The funny story is when he lone-charges 10 skirmishers:
they line up against him and get 3+3+3+1=4 ranks!
Chances are that they would have fled because of the terror, though.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:28 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software