Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jan 22, 2021 6:41 pm



Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Battle Standard Bearers 
Author Message
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 42
I'm involved in a growth league that started at 500 points, and goes to 2000, increasing 250 points each round. At what level would you suggest the addition of a BSB? Also, what are the pros and cons of taking a cauldron over a magical standard? What might be better with what types of armies?

Shane


Sat Feb 02, 2013 5:50 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:28 am
Posts: 1734
Location: California
Post 
Probably between 1000-1200. Depends if you want them mounted or on foot.

_________________
Who needs sanity? I have a Hydra


Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:46 am
Profile
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 42
Post 
saintofm wrote:
Probably between 1000-1200. Depends if you want them mounted or on foot.


I would most likely be fielding him on foot. Would it be better to put him in a unit and give him a magic standard, or give him offensive goodies to kill stuff better? Can a unit benefit from two magic banners in it?


Sat Feb 02, 2013 6:56 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:50 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Kittenmarsh
Post 
Also recall: You're going to be able to make the BSB part of your Cauldron when you reach the appropriate point level (for 225... don't think the points for the Standard go against the numeric %'s )

and Oh yes they can stack, so long as there is no rule against stacking (eg: if you had Frenzy and somehow got an...example banner... of Frenzy? only one Frenzy counts, only one extra attack) most common examples of this is Hag Graef for the BSB and Murder for the unit

_________________
Oderint dum Metuant.


Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:09 am
Profile WWW
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 5:34 pm
Posts: 42
Post 
L1qw1d wrote:
Also recall: You're going to be able to make the BSB part of your Cauldron when you reach the appropriate point level (for 225... don't think the points for the Standard go against the numeric %'s )

and Oh yes they can stack, so long as there is no rule against stacking (eg: if you had Frenzy and somehow got an...example banner... of Frenzy? only one Frenzy counts, only one extra attack) most common examples of this is Hag Graef for the BSB and Murder for the unit


Can the cauldron and its attendants be bunkered in a unit like a normal bsb?


Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:35 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:50 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Kittenmarsh
Post 
The Cauldron is a WarMachine, so no- but recall: only 6 melee attackers can go after it, shooters are shooting at T10. I've always been unclear if another model can join since the models are now 'placeholders' for its Wounds (btw we sneak an extra wound in. Heh).

The reason it's considered a bit better is the 12" bubble for the Stubborn I believe and its Blessings and the defencibility offered. Sure, you only move 5" a turn, but hey, most people get VERY protective of the thing that gives them their Ward, an attack or their KB

_________________
Oderint dum Metuant.


Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:50 am
Profile WWW
Malekith's Personal Guard

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:50 pm
Posts: 890
Location: Kittenmarsh
Post 
BTW: Cancel: finally had 20 whole minutes to myself, and lo pg 97. No characters to War Machines, Monsters, or...pretty much anything 'unsafe for them'

Guess Hellebron has no Cauldron

_________________
Oderint dum Metuant.


Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:04 pm
Profile WWW
Highborn
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:55 pm
Posts: 647
Location: Sweden
Post 
L1qw1d wrote:
BTW: Cancel: finally had 20 whole minutes to myself, and lo pg 97. No characters to War Machines, Monsters, or...pretty much anything 'unsafe for them'

Guess Hellebron has no Cauldron


Army Books supercedes BRB though, and the DE book tells us Hellebron can join a cauldron. Which creates a confusing situation, since it also tells us she replaces the Death Hag.


Sun Feb 03, 2013 5:01 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8748
Location: Hag Graef
Post 
WARHAMMER ARMIES:
DARK ELVES
Official Update Version 1.4


Q: If Crone Hellebron accompanies a Cauldron of Blood, does she
replace the Death Hag? Furthermore, if she does this does she become
an additional crew member? (p66)
A: Yes to both.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:14 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software