Druchii.net
http://www.druchii.net/phpBB3/

ROH... updated rules debate
http://www.druchii.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=66384
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Babnik [ Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:18 am ]
Post subject:  ROH... updated rules debate

Hi druchiis fellows,
I have tried to figure out last ROH updated rules with the quick search function but it is too slow!
There are many discussions in France regarding the ROH new rules. Translation was not as accurate as it should be...
It looks like it works only if the caster is in 12' range from the wearer. That makes a big difference with 7th ed rules...
Our most effective anti-magic items is much less good than before, but on the other hand, miscast effects is much more scary.
Your thoughts?
Txs

Author:  Caemdare [ Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: ROH... updated rules debate

Babnik wrote:
Hi druchiis fellows,
I have tried to figure out last ROH updated rules with the quick search function but it is too slow!
There are many discussions in France regarding the ROH new rules. Translation was not as accurate as it should be...
It looks like it works only if the caster is in 12' range from the wearer. That makes a big difference with 7th ed rules...
Our most effective anti-magic items is much less good than before, but on the other hand, miscast effects is much more scary.
Your thoughts?
Txs


Yup, it's now purely, 'Is the caster of the spell within 12 inches of the person carrying the Ring?', rather than the target of the spell. Probably, I imagine, to get with of all the debate, headache, and general frustration in the previous edition as to what would constitute the 'target' of a spell, in it's many and varied forms.

Author:  Meteor [ Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

there had also been TWO posts in regards to the wording and ruling debate for ROH in here ;)

Author:  Fleshcollector [ Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:16 pm ]
Post subject: 

The current group-think echo-chamber agrees that the RoH works only with the spellcaster within 12" of the ring and they are as correct as any mob.

However, to reach that conclusion the basic and verifiable definitions of the word "cast" must be redefined to fit into a warhammer assumption.

I suggest you play it as the mob suggests or risk a lynching.

Author:  Calisson [ Fri Aug 20, 2010 1:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

discussed in
A Defining Moment: Casting a Spell

result:

In all languages except French and German (not 100% sure about Japanese :? ):
RoH works only at 12" from the caster.
This comes from the FAQ v1.1.

In French:
RoH works only at 12" from the target.
This comes from the initial FAQ. No FAQ v1.1. has been issued.

In German:
RoH works at 12" from either the target of the caster (in the same way as the 7th edition RoH, before it has been FAQed).
This comes from the FAQ v1.1.

Conclusion:
the French RoH is by far the most useful. ;)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/