Coop's Crimson Dark Elves

Discover the age-old techniques of painting...

Moderators: Layne, xFallenx, cultofkhaine

Forum rules
Remember that picture file size should be no larger than 256KB.
For the full Painting and Modelling rules, visit [url]http://www.druchii.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27440[/url]
Coop
Dark Rider

Coop's Crimson Dark Elves

Post by Coop »

Hello everyone!

I am new to Dark Elves and just finished painting my first unit of Black Arc Corsairs. I have been playing Daemons of Chaos now for a while and decided to expand to another army. Unfortunately for DoC, many of the Khorne units took a beating this book and aren't as useful as before (excluding the skull cannon of course!). This means I rarely get to use all of my red paints, so I decided to go with some red Dark Elves.

I only have the camera on my phone to take pictures with and unfortunately, it seems to make the reds look a little more pink and exaggerated. Regardless, I think I could do a better job on the armor of the corsairs and hopefully the next 10 will be sharper. Maybe I will take all of the reds a shade darker and highlight with a not too bright orange.

I plan to get some executioners started soon as well.

Last edited by Coop on Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aurelius
Trainee Warrior

Re: Coop's Crimson Dark Elves

Post by Aurelius »

I love the color for the sea dragon cloaks because it reminds me of my original cold ones. The armor looks good, though I may suggest adding a wash to add some depth.
Amboadine
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp

Post by Amboadine »

Those are some striking colours!
Nice banner.

I agree on the wash, for some depth, it might just be the picture quality though.

Good work, looking forward to seeing the next unit.
Coop
Dark Rider

Post by Coop »

I took some more pictures in natural light and I think it did a better job of reflecting the actual red. You can also see the cloak better in this one.