Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:11 am



Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
extra spell- power of darkness 
Author Message
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:37 am
Posts: 14
extra spell- power of darkness...

is this even worth casting in 8th ed? If you roll low it fails and magic phase over...I think if you roll a 1, 2, 3 on 1 die or combination of 2 dice it fails regaurdless of power level...which means you should roll 1 dice for the odds to be better than it wastes two dice in order to get d3+1...which only breaks even by 2 dice...???


Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:01 am
Profile
Black Guard

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:49 pm
Posts: 263
Post 
If you 1-died it through 7th, you wasted half your attempts, and made it too easy for your opponent to rob you of your extra PD.

Think of it as a safe way, to rob your opponent of his DD :)


Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:55 am
Profile
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:48 pm
Posts: 288
Location: Canada
Post 
A natural 1 or 2 is a failure, not a 1, 2 or 3.

It's absolutely worth throwing 1 dice at! Don't do this at the start of your phase obviously, save it for the end. If you make it you will have 2-4 dice for another spell and if you fail well then nothing is lost but that 1 die.

That's one usage at least.


Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:07 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 5:56 am
Posts: 2261
Location: Flying my manticore 'Bloodmaw', looking for prey.
Post 
At the end of the phase, throw your last dice at it...If you have 2 sorceresses, save 2 dice. It's a bullying spell. When you get a good magic phase, it makes it even better. On a poor magic phase, you are probably better off throwing all your dice at a single spell.

_________________
ImageImage
http://urialsulla.mybrute.com


Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:08 am
Profile
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Posts: 8372
Location: The Dragon Caves of the Underway (Indianapolis IN)
Post 
I cast on 2 dice. Very low chance of failure, so normally the worst that happens is it's a wash -- you get back the 2 dice you used. On the other hand, it can multiply those 2 dice to 4

_________________
Truly These are the End Times ...


Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:23 am
Profile WWW
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:18 am
Posts: 47
Location: San Jose, CA
Post 
I've had success with throwing one dice at it at the end of a phase. After my opponent got burned by that a little, I started casting it at the start on 2, causing him to throw dice at that leaving my real spells open. :)


Thu Sep 16, 2010 5:41 am
Profile
Assassin

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:29 pm
Posts: 542
Location: belgium
Post 
you could also dagger it, my lvl 4 rolls a dice if its 1 or 2 she stabs a warrior to throw another one


Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:53 am
Profile
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:57 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Hell
Post 
or if you have big balls, throw one dice at it near the start of the phase. When some spells aren't that important to get off that round. But yea, i generally throw two dice at it when used near the start of the phase, rarely do i throw one die. It's a REAL bummer when you roll double 1's though...which I've done a fair few times :(

_________________
What's mine is mine, What's yours is mine.
Now that we understand each other, lets get down to business.

Jacks -Shade
- WS 5 - - S 3 - - T 2 - - D 6 - - I 5 -

Equipment
Short Sword, MC Long Sword*, Dagger, RxB & RHB [20/10] MC Shade Cloak, 4 Throwing Daggers, 3x Healing Vials, 451C, [3]Dark Venom, [4]Unseen Chains, Food, Dark Steed- Spike

Skills
Basic Stealth, Awareness, TWF, Suithenlu Khythan, Ride

Magic Item
Eye of the Jabberwock

*Magical properties possibly imbued


Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:01 pm
Profile
Generalissimo
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 3716
Location: Baltimore
Post 
Quote:
you could also dagger it, my lvl 4 rolls a dice if its 1 or 2 she stabs a warrior to throw another one


This is a good approach, but I'd suggest only rolling a second dice if you roll a 2.

If you roll a 1, just let it fail, as you've got a 1 in 6 chance on a second dice roll that you could roll another 1: still failing to cast the spell AND losing a model to boot. Not good :/

_________________
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman


Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:59 pm
Profile
Beastmaster

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:51 am
Posts: 366
Post 
Red... wrote:
Quote:
you could also dagger it, my lvl 4 rolls a dice if its 1 or 2 she stabs a warrior to throw another one


This is a good approach, but I'd suggest only rolling a second dice if you roll a 2.

If you roll a 1, just let it fail, as you've got a 1 in 6 chance on a second dice roll that you could roll another 1: still failing to cast the spell AND losing a model to boot. Not good :/


Really? a 5/6 chance of continuing the magic phase and casting the spell over a 7 point model?


Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:28 pm
Profile
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:57 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Hell
Post 
depends on how dire it is for your mage to continue casting her magic that round. Usually you got to be deadset unlucky to score a second 1 on a cast, it's not unlikely, so the risk should be weighed by the necessity. I'd usually just go for it anyway in that scenario, another warrior dead wouldn't phase me ;)

_________________
What's mine is mine, What's yours is mine.
Now that we understand each other, lets get down to business.

Jacks -Shade
- WS 5 - - S 3 - - T 2 - - D 6 - - I 5 -

Equipment
Short Sword, MC Long Sword*, Dagger, RxB & RHB [20/10] MC Shade Cloak, 4 Throwing Daggers, 3x Healing Vials, 451C, [3]Dark Venom, [4]Unseen Chains, Food, Dark Steed- Spike

Skills
Basic Stealth, Awareness, TWF, Suithenlu Khythan, Ride

Magic Item
Eye of the Jabberwock

*Magical properties possibly imbued


Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:05 pm
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:37 am
Posts: 14
Post 
wow some good responses! I get how at the end of the phase it could beef you up to pop off another spell. I'll have to look at 8th rules again. But i'm using a lvl4 sorceress for my list, so 4 spells+ power of darkness spell. So I guess it would probably be...average of 2-3 spells and on the last one probably try for the power of darkness to boost the last spell at least d3+1 dice. Ok I get it....

sorry im a vampire counts player/empire player....so Im used to lots of powder weapons or fear...but since they nurfed fear I want to try dark elves now!


Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:01 pm
Profile
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:57 am
Posts: 1956
Location: Hell
Post 
as if they nerfed fear...it's a headache needing to check it every turn now

_________________
What's mine is mine, What's yours is mine.
Now that we understand each other, lets get down to business.

Jacks -Shade
- WS 5 - - S 3 - - T 2 - - D 6 - - I 5 -

Equipment
Short Sword, MC Long Sword*, Dagger, RxB & RHB [20/10] MC Shade Cloak, 4 Throwing Daggers, 3x Healing Vials, 451C, [3]Dark Venom, [4]Unseen Chains, Food, Dark Steed- Spike

Skills
Basic Stealth, Awareness, TWF, Suithenlu Khythan, Ride

Magic Item
Eye of the Jabberwock

*Magical properties possibly imbued


Thu Sep 16, 2010 4:24 pm
Profile
Beastmaster

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:51 am
Posts: 366
Post 
I have played many games through and neither I nor my opponents remembered to check for fear. Terror they never forget though. Weird.

I guess I can't judge how effective it is, but it must be quite a biatch to have to test for it. Our army is less vulnerable than most others anyway though


Thu Sep 16, 2010 7:29 pm
Profile
Generalissimo
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Posts: 3716
Location: Baltimore
Post 
I wouldn't say they nerfed fear so much as made it reasonable. The whole 'autobreak if you have a lower unit strength and your opponent causes you fear' when you lose a combat rule was over the top.

The new rules make fear and terror more game friendly: no more landing my daemon prince within 6" of my empire opponent and watching as his entire army leap frogs off the board.

_________________
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman


Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:14 pm
Profile
Trainee Warrior
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 2:11 am
Posts: 33
Location: Lurking....
Post 
flash29 wrote:
you could also dagger it, my lvl 4 rolls a dice if its 1 or 2 she stabs a warrior to throw another one


This is how i use it most often

_________________
Hoooty-Hoot and all that jazz


Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:27 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 16 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software