Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Nov 25, 2020 2:42 am



Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
FAQ about rules 6th ed- Last updated on 18/08 
Author Message
Witch Elf
Witch Elf
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2002 11:31 pm
Posts: 8090
Location: Toms River, NJ, USA
Please do not post in this thread. If no one else posts it is easier to find the rules and not get them bogged down in questions.

NOTE TO US PLAYERS: when we refer to the GW homepage you will probably need to select the UK version, due to the US page not having the stickies and so fourth.

All questions and answers are based on the 6th edition, please be patient as it will take time to update it to 7th edition. And as the 18/8 I will no longer keep updating this thread, but if you have any questions you want added just PM them to me. I just wont activly go over this thread anymore

Linda
==============================================
Recent

:?: : If a unit with a character is in it gets affected by a spell that has a lasting effect, will the character still be affected if he leaves the unit?

A : he is no longer affected. if a unit is subject to a spell and there is a character in the unit he will only be subject to it for as long as he is in the unit. when he leaves the spell ends for him. Should the unit be wiped out around him however he will still be affected (no more unit to leave). page 115 of the annual 2004


:!: : Breaking news! GW has put up a whole page of old articles from Annual 2002 as well as the Chronicles AND official special characters! Read it all now http://uk.games-workshop.com/chronicles/

Dark Elves:

:?: : I heard about a revision, what did we get and where can I get it?

A: the Revision can be found at http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=11522 and is now legal (i.e. you don’t need opponent’s approval) as it is published in White 287 (November 2003 issue), also in the 2004 Chronicles, and is also available for download from GW´s homepage: http://uk.games-workshop.com/darkelves/update/1


:?: : Cult of Pleasure army list? Same question as above.

A: The Cult of pleasure army list can now be downloaded at: http://uk.games-workshop.com/darkelves/ ... mylist.pdf and it is official and will remain official even after the campaign.


:?: : I heard about some new magical items that didn’t come from Albion? Where are they?

A: the cult of pleasure list, they can be used in normal dark elven armies too. see link above.


:?: : How many wounds does an enemy take from Black Lotus? is it first the one and then a further one as the stats are lowered?

A: Just the one. see chronicle 2003 page 134 and http://uk.games-workshop.com/news/errat ... kelves.pdf


:?: : Do the revision apply to the cityguard list as well (cheaper warriors, 2 for 1 chariots and so)?

A: No it doesn’t.


:?: : What units can use the cauldrons ability to re-roll to wound rolls?

A: All units and beasts, including impact hits from a chariot. (Cleared up by Gavin Thorpe)


:?: : What exactly can I mount my battle standard bearer on, and what equipment can I give him?

A: A cold one, dark steed or chariot only, and you can give him armour and a sea dragon cloak. You can't give him any magical weapon that requires two hands to use, or any magical armour that includes a shield.


:?: : Where can I find the rules for the different hydras?

A: in the Annual 2002 page 128. also on: http://uk.games-workshop.com/darkelves/hydra/1/ and they are official


:?: : What is Gauntlet of Power?

A: It's one of the magic items we won with the Albion campaign. All the Albion magic items can be found here: http://us.games-workshop.com/games/gaming/treasures.pdf and are official for use.


:?: : How does the Cityguard formation really work?

A: The first rank must and may only have repeater crossbows; the following ranks must and may only have spears. If the front rank has a hand weapon, shield and light armour you gain a 4+ armour save in close combat as you use the hand weapon and shield. This is a special rule for the city guard. In addition the command group must also pay for repeater crossbows as usual since they are in the front rank.


:?: : But where can I find the rules for the cityguard then?

A: Chronicles 2003 http://uk.games-workshop.com/darkelves/ ... rrison.pdf and it is official.


:?: : Watchtower list? Where can I find that?

A: http://uk.games-workshop.com/darkelves/ ... htower.pdf


:?: : Do Reaper bolthrowers get -1 when shooting multiple shots? How about -1 for long range?

A: They do not get -1 for multiple shot, but they do suffer the usual -1 if shooting over long range. As the rules don’t mention the Multiple Shot rule.


:?: : Does the improved save gotten by wounds inflicted while wearing blood armour apply to unsaved wounds cause by missile weapons such as a repeater crossbow?

A: Yes. The item does not mention any restriction to close combat.


:?: : Do Dark Elf Sorceresses get +1 to cast with Shadow and Death magic too?

A: Yes. The rules just state that they get +1 to cast, not that it is specific to Dark magic. Page 16 of the dark elf army book.


Close Combat:

:?: : Can a Champion be moved from the front rank to a fighting rank like a character?

A: No. he is part of the command and they must always be in the front rank. page 108, and also cleared up in the 2003 Chronicle page 132, page 113 of Chronicles 2004


:?: : Can I use a magical close combat weapon along with a hand weapon to gain an extra attack? Or can I have say a greatweapon and a magical close combat weapon and change depending on the need?

A: A character who has a magic close combat must use it and cannot use other close combat weapons (page 152 of the rulebook). Only exception is Brettonia Characters who must use their lance when they charge if they have one.


:?: : Can you have an armour save that is better then 1+?

A: Yes you can have negative armour saves, though you always fail on a 1. This just makes it easier to save high strength attacks as you are more likely to still have a good save after the modifiers. (Page 64 of the rulebook).


:?: : Strictly speaking, there is no reference as to striking order for two Great Weapon-armed non-charging units. The answer seems obvious (Initiative order) but could be argued (some people say it depends on who won the previous combat round).

A : It follows normal combat rules: they will strike in Initiative order. If they both have the same Initiative, then the winner of the previous rounds combat strikes first. As a last resort, roll a dice, as there are never simultaneous Attacks in Warhammer. Page 113 of Chronicles 2004


:?: : Do I get a parry bonus in close combat if I am mounted?

A: No you only get the extra one point of save in close combat if you are on foot AND both the hand weapon and the shield are non magical. Page 116 of chronicles 2004 clears up the magic items thing and page 88 deals with the must be on foot part.


:?: : Speaking of the parry bonus, can units that have more then one weapon, say spearelves decide which weapon to use and if they pick the hand weapon and shield bonus do they get the bonus save?

A: You can select a weapon at the start of combat, but must then use that until the whole combat is resolved (i.e. no longer in close combat). And yes if the models are eligible for the parry bonus (i.e. they are on foot, have both non magical hand weapons and non magical shields) then they gain the bonus save. So spearelves using the hand weapon and shield combo will have 4+ save in cc


:?: : Can a mounted person benefit from the +1 attack for having 2 close combat weapons?

A: no. Only people on foot (except Empire pistoliers). Page 88 of the rulebook.


:?: : Do all troops carry hand weapons?

A: All troops and characters are assumed to carry hand weapons (page 88 of the rulebook), unless otherwise noted (such as Orcs who have Choppas but no hand weapons).


:?: : Since all troops carry handweapons can my Executioners use their hand weapon and still gain Killing blow?

A: yes. The killing blow ability is for the troop not the weapon.


Movement

:?: : When you have a failed charge with flyers how far do they move?

A: All troops that make a failed charge move their normal movement rate, and for flyers this is 20 inches.


Psychology

:?: : When a troop is under the affect of Stupidity can it flee as a charge reaction?

A: I think the wording is a hang up from previous ed when Immune to Psych didn't exist as a defined rule. I would say that to all intents they are
Immune to Psych until they cease being stupid (like units with Frenzy).

GAV

So Cold Ones that have gone stupid cannot flee.


:?: : If a Frenzied unit is beaten by a Fear-causing unit with higher unit strength, does the frenzied unit autobreak?

A: yes they loose the combat, and therefore looses their Frenzy and are then no longer immune to psychology and flee.


:?: : Do I have to take terror tests for a model that I cannot see? For instance if it is behind my units, or behind terrain?

A: Yes. As long as you are close enough you must test no matter if you can see it or not.


:?: : Does fast cavalry automatically rally after they have elected to flee as a charge response as the appendix states?

A: No. the appendix got it wrong. Fast Cavalry need to roll for rallying just like everybody else. This has been fixed in the Errata in the chronicles.


:?: : Do dark elf special characters hate high elves?

A: Yes. Page 6 of the dark elf army book clearly states that ALL dark elves hate high elves.


Magic

:?: : How is a wizard affected my close combat when it comes to casting spells?

A: A wizard can cast spells when he is fighting in close combat. Only exception is magic missiles, which a wizard can't cast when he is in close combat. He can only cast spells which require LOS at the unit he is fighting with.
A wizard can not cast spells at a unit in close combat, unless specifically stated in the spells description.


Magic Items

:?: : The "Must have a mundane version to take a magical version" rule. What exactly does this mean and for what kinds of equipment?

A: This is for armours mostly (note if the character can take either light or heavy armour they can take ANY magical armour). When it comes to magical weapons the character must only be able to take any kind of mundane weapon and as most characters come with a hand weapon they can take ANY magical weapon (even if it is a bow, great weapon or whatever).

NOTE: the online Q&A thread has been changed to allow armours that include a shield to charcters that dont have the option for a shield

Other:

:?: : When using poisoned missile weapons do you still autowound on a 6 if you need 7+ to hit?

A: No. Lizardmen army book page 26.


:?: : Where can I find the rules for Mengil Manhide and his Manflayers?

A: http://uk.games-workshop.com/dogsofwar/manflayers/1/


:?: : Is there any GW made FAQ for the SOC?

A: http://uk.games-workshop.com/chronicles ... oc-faq.pdf


:?: Where can I find the Dogs of war units?

A: http://us.games-workshop.com/games/warh ... of_war.pdf


:?: : Can I take Dogs of War characters in a non-DOW army (like a hireling wizard)?

A: No. Only DOW armies can use DOW characters (apart from the ones that specifically state they can be used in any army like Dark Emissary and such).


:?: : Can you deploy scouts out of cover but on the side of the enemy?

A: When it comes to spotting scouts all units have 360 degree Line of sight. So you MUST be behind cover so that they can’t trace Line of sight to you. Page 7 of the annual 2002


:?: : If a unit is subject to any form of spell and I have a character leave the unit, is the character still subject to the spell?

A: No. As soon as he/she leaves they are not affected by the spell.


:?: : Can a monster march and still use it’s breath weapon?

A: No. page 132 of chronicles 2003


:?: : Are chariots affected by poison?

A: yes. GW stated that they are immune in the Vampire counts Errata but has now removed that ruling.


Other armies:

:?: Warbands, any help on rules etc?

A: Of course: http://us.games-workshop.com/games/warh ... efault.htm


:?: : Can a marked character (chaos) join an unmarked unit?

A: Yes. Though note that Undevided is a mark too.


:?: Are Undead immune to poison?

A: No they are not. See Chronicles 2003 page 134 or page 117 of Chronicles 2004.


:?: : Where is the GW errata and FAQ located?

A: http://uk.games-workshop.com/chronicles/


:?: : What size base should everything be on?

A: GW has finally made a ruling on this: http://uk.games-workshop.com/warhammer/base%2Dchart/1/


:?: : What WD was X in?

A: use the white dwarf database: http://uk.games-workshop.com/whitedwarf/database/


Other things that aren't really FAQs, but are worth mentioning and do come up on this site a lot:

:arrow: The Mordheim rules for Dark Elves can be found here

:arrow: Click here for a page reference chart for the rules of warhammer

_________________
General FAQ:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?t=2504

FAQ about rules:
http://www.druchii.net/viewtopic.php?p=547809


Last edited by Linda lobsta defenda on Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:19 pm, edited 20 times in total.



Tue Jan 07, 2003 11:56 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 1 post ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software