Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:55 pm



Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Question about the focus familiar. 
Author Message
Trainee Warrior

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:03 pm
Posts: 29
It says that this is only used for determing range and line of sight but also to determine whether she counts as in combat or not. But that last part confuses me a bit, does that mean they can charge the focus familiar and the hits get then redirected to the sorceress?


Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:50 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:31 pm
Posts: 1180
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Post 
no, that means that she can cast magic missiles when being in CC, because the familiar counts as not being there.

this should have been in the Rules section of the forums


Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:13 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:45 am
Posts: 1138
Location: Located
Post 
Lakissov is right; see the familiar as Neferata's cat, or a marker which determines where a tunneling team would pop up ;)

_________________
"Ceterum censeo Ulthuan esse delendam"
-Ehakir

3/4 of games are won by deathstars. Copy this into your signature if you still use real tactics to win.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:40 am
Profile
Rending Star
Rending Star
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 6:10 am
Posts: 5030
Location: Germany
Post 
The familiar isn't a miniature that moves around. It is only placed during the Magic Phase and then removed, when it's over.

Bye
Thanee


Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:21 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
You can't attack power familiar or the other familiars in cc. They are magic items that provide certain abilities or bonuses. The only thing that can "attack" them will be items or spells that nullify magic items. They will be a prime target for Vaul's Unmaking for example.

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 7:25 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:23 pm
Posts: 582
Location: Finland
Post 
What kind of line of sight the focus familiar uses if the sorceress is mounted on a monster?

_________________
My avatar is so cute, isn't it?


Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:30 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:54 pm
Posts: 2503
Location: Québec, Canucksda.
Post 
as you place the familiar on the table, it grants 360 line of sight, but is blocked by terrain and other units, still grants a massive bonus of targets.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:22 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
This item is so useful for a level 4 its hard to imagine that it will not be on the table on an almost continual basis.

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:13 pm
Profile
Roleplaying Deity
Roleplaying Deity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4577
Location: Roleplaying Forum
Post 
If the sorceress is charged, can you place the focus familiar next to her out of combat, and fire into the combat meaning she gets magic missiles etc to support her. Or do the normal rules apply for not being able to cast into friendly combat (even though its herself!)


Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:18 pm
Profile
Black Guard
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2006 9:33 pm
Posts: 255
Location: Holland
Post 
the normal rules apply

_________________
Name: Ignat (Group 39)
Class: Mage
Stats: WS4 S3 T4 D3 I4
Equipment: Staff, Short Sword, Robe.
Skills: Power of Aqshy(1), Defensive Fighting.
Inventory: Pendant


Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:21 pm
Profile
Roleplaying Deity
Roleplaying Deity
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:50 am
Posts: 4577
Location: Roleplaying Forum
Post 
ok, was just thinking how powerfull she could get if she could cast doombolt and chillwind into combats she was in with the familiar :) guess its not the case. Shes powerful enough with it anyway though.

If a unit charges her unit and hopes to break it, and a US5+ unit is sitting behind so you flee through it and are destroyed, she can use the familiar to blow that unit to bits thus saving her unit and herself.

8)


Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:26 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:31 pm
Posts: 3023
Location: The Tower of Dust
Post 
Heartrender wrote:
If the sorceress is charged, can you place the focus familiar next to her out of combat, and fire into the combat meaning she gets magic missiles etc to support her. Or do the normal rules apply for not being able to cast into friendly combat (even though its herself!)


That's pretty much exacty what it says in the description so yes

_________________
"Luck is the residue of design"


Wed Jul 16, 2008 12:50 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:54 am
Posts: 1444
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Post 
The rules for the focus familiar specificallty say she can cast magic missiles into combat? I haven't seen the specific wording yet, but I doubt it overrides the rules for magic missiles. I think it still lets her cast magic missiles at viable targets, even though she herself is in combat.

_________________
There is no escape from Chaos. It marks us all.


Image
Image


Wed Jul 16, 2008 5:16 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
Tethlis wrote:
The rules for the focus familiar specificallty say she can cast magic missiles into combat? I haven't seen the specific wording yet, but I doubt it overrides the rules for magic missiles. I think it still lets her cast magic missiles at viable targets, even though she herself is in combat.


This is my understanding as well you still can't cast a spell into combat unless the spell says that it may be cast into combat. This will be true even if you model your focus familiar as a giant rat. ;)

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:36 pm
Profile
Lord of Khorne
Lord of Khorne
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2002 1:29 pm
Posts: 8432
Location: Leading the revolution (and in the chat).
Post 
Moved to the rules forum.

A magic missile can't be cast into combat - the familiar won't change that.

_________________
Image

"Rork.. a wonderful guy :)" - Linda Lobsta Defenda

+++ Team Mulligans +++


Wed Jul 16, 2008 6:41 pm
Profile
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 177
Location: In the center of the known universe
Post 
So I’m wondering if we are looking at this all wrong. The FF can be used to determine range and LOS, I get that simple but it also says and again the grammar use is interesting whether she counts as in combat or not.

So the premise is the sorceress can project herself out of combat or when a FF is used she is not part of combat?! Does that also mean that I can put a sorceress in the last rank of a unit to hide and no longer need to have her on the front rank?


Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:27 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
I think the wording is something like "... can use this point to determine range, LOS, and whether or not she counts as in combat when casting spells until the end of the turn."

i.e. no

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:44 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 5:54 pm
Posts: 2503
Location: Québec, Canucksda.
Post 
Supreme Sorc on top of Black Dragon
Give her the Pendant of Kaeleth for survivability (against shooting mostly) and then pop the familiar while flanking a big infantry block. O:


Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:50 am
Profile
Executioner

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 7:48 am
Posts: 191
Post 
tmr wrote:
So the premise is the sorceress can project herself out of combat or when a FF is used she is not part of combat?! Does that also mean that I can put a sorceress in the last rank of a unit to hide and no longer need to have her on the front rank?


Off the top of my head, the reason that a Wizard can't cast spells while not in the front rank is a Basic Rule Book stipulation. i.e. the text doesn't say anything about Line of Sight. It just says, "You can't cast if you're not in the front rank."

So no, the Familiar will not allow you to cast from the back rank.


Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:39 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2002 5:07 am
Posts: 1060
Location: Plotting the return of the Cult of Pleasure
Post 
The language of the focus familiar determining whether the sorceress is in combat or not is simply establishing that the point of origin of the spell is considered to be the familiar therefore, even if the sorceress is in combat she will be able to cast things like magic missiles that require line of sight. Her line of sight will be determined from the familiar not from her postition. Unless there is no good location to place the familiar, the sorceress will be able to fire away with the magic missiles, etc... while in combat.

_________________
To strive, to persevere, to conquer.


Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:12 am
Profile
Cold One Knight
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2002 12:34 am
Posts: 216
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Post 
The familiar is only used in the Magic Phase, so it could not be used to attack the sorceress. The entry says, "Place a marker at the start of each Dark Elf magic phase..."

_________________
-ObsidianIchor

Armies:
Druchii: 4000+
DIY Marines: 4000+
Tyranids: 6000+


Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:15 am
Profile
Dark Rider

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 11:06 pm
Posts: 142
Post 
I love this item. I was testing out some items (dagger.familiar) in friendly games versus my friends new army of demons. Though he proxied a lot, it was fun having my sorceress run around a forest with khorne hounds trying to catch her. She still casted magic though at that point of the game it was useless as there was a lot of magic resistance.

How does the demon ward work? just...wondering...no point in a new topic?


Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:05 am
Profile
Malekith's Personal Guard
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 3:20 am
Posts: 813
Location: Reporting live from the battlefield!
Post 
Melinia wrote:
tmr wrote:
So the premise is the sorceress can project herself out of combat or when a FF is used she is not part of combat?! Does that also mean that I can put a sorceress in the last rank of a unit to hide and no longer need to have her on the front rank?


Off the top of my head, the reason that a Wizard can't cast spells while not in the front rank is a Basic Rule Book stipulation. i.e. the text doesn't say anything about Line of Sight. It just says, "You can't cast if you're not in the front rank."

So no, the Familiar will not allow you to cast from the back rank.
Furthermore you can't choose to put characters in the back rank. They can only end up there if they are A) Skaven or B) refusing a challenge. And characters (other than Skaven) can't do jack from the back row.

_________________
Linda Lobsta Defenda wrote:
dggrj is correct
Woot! If it's only ever said once, I couldn't ask for a better person to say it.


Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:03 am
Profile
Assassin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 6:06 am
Posts: 564
Location: Raiding Lustria for more cake...(Newcastle, Australia)
Post 
@b0yceb0y
The daemon ward works against everything just like an ordinary ward save instead of previously of only working against non-magical attacks.

_________________
Dark Elf Tally using the 6th Ed. list
W: 11 D: 2 L: 8
Dark Elf Tally using the 7th Ed. List
W: 24 D: 2 L: 6


Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:26 am
Profile
Executioner
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 3:43 pm
Posts: 177
Location: In the center of the known universe
Post 
Thanks for all the claification... I do like the idea of planting a Sorc in the forest and having the FF pop out and do some damage.


Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:30 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software