Dealing With the Anvil of Doom

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Dozerdozen
Slave on the Altar

Dealing With the Anvil of Doom

Post by Dozerdozen »

Greetings!!

I'm new to the Dark Elves and Druchii.net but have had great success to date... However, I'll be going up a 3,500pt Dwarf list that is centered around Thorek and his Anvil of Doom protected by a battery of 2 organ guns and two bolt throwers.

My most likely solution that I have come up with is a Dread Lord equipped with H Armor, Shield, SDC, Lance, Black Amulet, and Potion of Strength.

However, I think my plan on delivering him safely is unfortunately reliable too much on luck.

I plan on using the terrain that we place to screen him from hopefully at least one or two of his four war machines and using my 3 sorceresses to cast Chillwind/Blade Wind at his most threatening war machine to my general.

Assuming I can get him to land on the Anvil, that will be 4 rerollable attacks at Strength 9 from my general that I plan on dedicating all to Thorek and 5 attacks at strength 6 from his dragon directed at Kraggi and 2 anvil guards.

I'm fairly confident that I can take Thorek out with the Dread Lord between having no armor save and likely being wounded from the effects of the Black Amulet, but I'm not so sure about the three crew. I anticipate winning the combat on his turn and then flying into cover from his artillery at the beginning of my turn, hopefully being able to utilize the dragon's terror and breath weapon.

If I can pull this off, I think that my mobility will be able to overcome his stubborness to break from combat and insure another victory for the Druchii.

What do you think? Can you suggest a better way to deliver my Dreadlord to his target? Do you have an entirely different idea all together? I'd appreciate any advice you could give. This battle will begin this coming Wednesday.