Dreadlord on a Dragon

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Mazin1
Slave on the Altar

Dreadlord on a Dragon

Post by Mazin1 »

Hi all, first post here so if its in the wrong place I apologize.

Im very new to the game and have been adding to my army. I just picked up a dragon (im moding a High Elf dragon currentrly).

So Im building the Dreadlord rider but Im torn between 2 weapons: Crimson Death and Caldor`s Bane. I just wanted to get some feedback on which is the better choice.

Thanks in advance for your help.

P.S. I did do a search but all the post seemed to be pre 7th ed..
Grandmaster ej
Malekith's Personal Guard

Post by Grandmaster ej »

both work but it really depends on the rest of your set-up really:

for example, a dreadlord with the pendant of khaeleth, and hence a attrition capable dreadlord could have either, but may be better suited to the crimson death

a dreadlord who wants to carry the ring of hotek, cannot then carry the pendant and so must take the armour of eternal servitude, to suplement this I usually take a shield and give him caledor's bane as he can use a shield with it. this also applies if you want to double the dreadlord with a pendant carrying BSB (a good combination), and therefore leaving your dreadlord with the armour of eternal servitude

this also means your dreadlords have to work in different ways, a crimson/pendant lord can fight anything, a star dragon, a blood thirster etc, however a caledors bane/servitude dreadlord cannot fight an extended fight aslong, and therefore you would have to weaken a tough target before engaging with your dreadlord

hope this helps
Chuck Norris does not hunt because the word hunting infers the possability of failure. Chuck Norris goes killing.
Dyvim tvar
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves

Post by Dyvim tvar »