A debate between absolute newbies (Lizardmen vs Dark Elves)

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Elric of grans
Dark Rider

A debate between absolute newbies (Lizardmen vs Dark Elves)

Post by Elric of grans »

Our 40K group had been waiting for eight edition to introduce Fantasy Battle to the games we play. Now that it is out, discussion and debate is strong. At the end of the day, however, none of us have played a game (some people are still picking an army, others are building and painting), so we keep just deferring to what others are saying. There is one debate I would like to hear a more experienced opinion about.

One of our players --- indisputably the best general in the group (he rarely loses a game) --- is starting a Lizardman army. In 40K, his lists tend to be strong. Not top-table-tournament-strong, but a lot stronger than anyone else here fields. For Fantasy Battle, he is looking to field a Slann (Lore of Fire), blocks of Saurus, some Skinks, Terradons or Chameleon Skinks and an Ancient Stegadon at 2000-ish points.

On the other hand, I chose Dark Elves. I am about average-competency as a general, for our group, and tend to base my lists slightly more on what I think is `cool' than what is effective. I do (usually) draw the line at units that outright gimp my army (one player cares so much about fluff he takes even those units!), so competitiveness is not completely out of my mind. I want to field a Sorceress (Lore of Dark Magic), a Master or two (a BSB if two), blocks of Corsairs, some Dark Riders, Witch Elves and Executioners, maybe Cold One Knights (if I have the points) --- all units MSU --- and Reaper Bolt Throwers. I recognise Crossbowmen, Hydras, etc are stronger units, but they do not appeal to me as much (models/fluff-wise).