Logo
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:52 pm



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
COB Charging out of Unit - Spacial Question 
Author Message
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:56 am
Posts: 22
So my buddy and I had a game yesterday and the following situation came up. Neither of us knew exactly how it should play out.

I had a COB in a witch horde and he threw his waywatchers out in front to slow them down. The COB was going to charge out of the unit into a unit off to the left. If you drew a line from the COB to the unit being charged, the COB would clear the waywatchers. However, how exactly does the COB exit the unit in order to complete the charge? If the cauldron has to have enough room in front of it to physically get out of the witch unit before wheeling, it would have clipped the waywatchers. Can the COB just exit from the corner of the witch unit? With what facing?


Thanks for your help!


Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:11 pm
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
Well this is a special case which is not clearly covered in the rulebook. Can a character wheel inside of its own unit? I've scanned the rule book and the errata, and found no clear answer. The only three restrictions that apply to "can I declare a charge" is: 1) line of sight 2) forward arc 3) the charge is actually possible. I believe it is number 3 that is in dispute here :)

I think that you can not declare the charge. I have no actual quote, as mentioned, other than that I played a tournament some time ago where I wanted to charge a single cold one master out of a cold one bus. The bus was blocked such that if I had to physically leave the unit before wheeling, I could not declare the charge with that particular master that I wanted to. But if I could wheel "inside" my unit, I could. I think the general ruling, after some debate, was that I could not charge. You have to first leave your own unit entirely, THEN wheel. And I think the cauldron is literally the only model that is big enough for this every to be a serious issue :P

But! Like I said, I have no actual rule quote on this. I, too, would like to have a definite answer to this question for next time I bring out the old cauldron....

But, nice trick on your part! I also used that trick against a wood elf opponent not too long ago. He blocked my horde with an eagle - far off to the side. My cauldron charged out of the unit solo, hammering into his character bunker and running it off the table :burns:

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:20 pm
Profile
Beastmaster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 pm
Posts: 334
Good answer my man! Good tic tac too


Sun Jan 11, 2015 11:03 pm
Profile
Corsair
Corsair
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Posts: 8584
Location: Hag Graef
See the FAQ.
WARHAMMER RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.9 wrote:
Q: Can a character ‘move through’ a unit he has joined when he leaves it (i.e. can he leave through the side or rear of the unit, measuring the move from his starting position)? (p101)
A: Yes.
That should allow the COB, which leaves the unit as a character, to wheel and 'move through' its unit, and clear past the waywatchers.
So I'd say that the charge was possible indeed - and that Thraundil was cheated a charge during his tourney.

_________________
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}


Mon Jan 12, 2015 5:10 am
Profile
Malekith's Best Friend
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:46 pm
Posts: 1177
Location: The Depths of Despair
Calisson wrote:
See the FAQ.
WARHAMMER RULEBOOK Official Update Version 1.9 wrote:
Q: Can a character ‘move through’ a unit he has joined when he leaves it (i.e. can he leave through the side or rear of the unit, measuring the move from his starting position)? (p101)
A: Yes.
That should allow the COB, which leaves the unit as a character, to wheel and 'move through' its unit, and clear past the waywatchers.
So I'd say that the charge was possible indeed - and that Thraundil was cheated a charge during his tourney.


I ended up charging with another master and he rolled boxcar twice on his break test subsequently, so I think it worked out alright :p

That being said though - nice find. I only looked through charge ammendments, didnt think to look for simple "character movement" clarifications. So - the charge is good! The virtual wheels rule ;)

_________________
Name: Ladry (female)
Class: Mage (Pyromancer)
Equipment: Staff, longsword, dagger, 20 gold, insignia ring.
Skills: Power of Aqshy (2), defensive figthing
WS4, S2, T3, D4, I6.


Mon Jan 12, 2015 8:56 am
Profile
Slave (off the Altar)

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 2:56 am
Posts: 22
Thanks for the replies, gents! Learned something new!


Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:13 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software