Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Have a question about the Warhammer rules? Ask them here!

Moderator: The Dread Knights

User avatar
Gerner
Noble
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:28 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: FAQ and Druchii.net recommendations

Post by Gerner »

That leaves the question; what kind of attack is the screams?
Is the argument that it happens in the shooting fase invalid?

Since the screams are so strong (OP) I would still argue that it protects against them.
User avatar
Dalamar
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
Posts: 9675
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons

Re: FAQ and Druchii.net recommendations

Post by Dalamar »

It's a special attack. Thats the kind of attack it is. It doesn't fit any category so category specific defenses will not work against it.

As for screams being strong... I always found them underwhelming. Terrorgheists crumple fast with enough firepower. CoT master should kill one on the charge. Banshees would be trickier being inside units but they're slow and easy to predict where they'll be a threat.
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16
Ghostrider
Slave (off the Altar)
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:07 am

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Ghostrider »

Regarding the Medusas gaze. The RB says -1 for multiple shots, but that is for a weapon with multiple shots. Fail to see how the medusa rules states it is using a weapon with the multiple shots option. Does she have the option to use single shot ?
User avatar
Dyvim tvar
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Posts: 8372
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Location: The Dragon Caves of the Underway (Indianapolis IN)
Contact:

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Dyvim tvar »

The profile on page 48 of the Army book indicates that the Gaze is subject to the Multiple Shots (4) rule. A -1 to hit is part of that rule, and the Gaze therefore suffers even if it is not a separate "weapon" in the conventional sense. Note that the Multiple Shots rule is permissive, not mandatory, and so single shot with no modifier is an option (not one worth taking though).
Truly These are the End Times ...
Ghostrider
Slave (off the Altar)
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:07 am

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Ghostrider »

Regarding Terror Gheist screams Im with Gerner. Very raw to say the cloak doesen`t protect agains it. "A special atack" in the shooting phase but not a shooting atack or magical atack, just special. And as for Terror Gheist beeing underwhelming - not my experience at all. Two TG rolling 7 ( + 6 wounds ) = 13. With ld9 that is 4+4 wounds no armor save. Kills just about any lord build there is doesen`t it ? And takes out 8 knights. Pretty strong if you ask me.
Creedence
Dark Rider
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 10:28 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Creedence »

Do warlocks get to channel like other wizards?
Lord Admiral, Creedence Vendral, Commander of the Black Arc Murderous Pride.
User avatar
Dyvim tvar
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Lord of the Dragon Caves
Posts: 8372
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2003 6:34 pm
Location: The Dragon Caves of the Underway (Indianapolis IN)
Contact:

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Dyvim tvar »

Yes.
Truly These are the End Times ...
User avatar
dreadlord_draichnyr
Slave on the Altar
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by dreadlord_draichnyr »

Q: How does the Lore of Beasts attribute work on
a Cauldron of Blood, Bloodwrack Shrine or the
unit containing either of these?
A: The Lore attribute (RB p.493) makes spells
easier to cast only on beasts, or creatures attuned
to the wilderness. As neither the Cauldron nor
Shrine are pulled by any beast, they do not
benefit from the Beasts Lore Attribute, nor grant
this benefit to the unit they reside in"

Your wrong on this as the lore attribute states it works on war beasts, cavalry, monstrous beasts,monstrous cavalry , monsters , swarms and CHARIOTS which the CoB and BwS are both chariots so benefit from the lore attribute.

Also the : Q: Kouran's armour strikes back "immediately".
May it prevent the incoming hit from being
resolved?
A: No, the attacks are resolved completely (to-hit,
to-wound, saves) before the strike back occurs.

the Str 5 hit via armour goes before the to wound roll of the attacker the "immediately" means just that other wise it would it would be " for each hit Kouran suffers after to wound rolls have been made the attacking model suffer a Str 5 hit" so the hits from the armour happen "immediately" after being hit not after to wound rolls are made .
User avatar
Calisson
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 8766
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Hag Graef

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Calisson »

Welcome dreadlord_draichnyr to D.net!
dreadlord_draichnyr wrote:Q: How does the Lore of Beasts attribute work on
a Cauldron of Blood, Bloodwrack Shrine or the
unit containing either of these?
A: The Lore attribute (RB p.493) makes spells
easier to cast only on beasts, or creatures attuned
to the wilderness. As neither the Cauldron nor
Shrine are pulled by any beast, they do not
benefit from the Beasts Lore Attribute, nor grant
this benefit to the unit they reside in"

Your wrong on this as the lore attribute states it works on war beasts, cavalry, monstrous beasts,monstrous cavalry , monsters , swarms and CHARIOTS which the CoB and BwS are both chariots so benefit from the lore attribute.
You could have been right but you forgot to read the attribute's first sentence.
P. 493, Beast Lore attribute reads exactly:
"Spells from the Lore of Beasts are easier to cast on beasts..."
p.85, Chariots read: "A chariot is a wheeled war vehicle drawm into battle by beasts of some kind..."
and our AB p.47 tells that COB is pulled by no beast, but by The Will Of Gods.

In Druchii.net, we do not want to fall into the blasphemy :burns: of considering that Gods are beasts of some kind. As there is no beast, the spell attribute should NOT be easier to cast, according to the spell's very description.
Note that it can be both a benefit and a hindrance, as both sides could use Lore of Beasts.

-=-=-

About Kouran, we looked deeply in the BRB and found nothing which would tell that to hit, to wound and to save armour is not simultaneous.
Therefore, we understand "immediately" to be mean at the same Initiative (as explained in BRB p.50, extreme left column), which does not prevent wounding and saving, however it does postpone a little bit dying.
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}
User avatar
dreadlord_draichnyr
Slave on the Altar
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 2:26 pm

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by dreadlord_draichnyr »

The empire steam tank as well as the corpse cart both chariots but you as saying no to lore of beasts being easier to cast on them either due to the fluff part of the lore attribute ? Because other wise it would state "although the CoB ,BwS are chariots they are not counted as being one for the targeting purposes of spells "
Will of the gods is just an explanation to how the CoB is even able to move.
User avatar
Calisson
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 8766
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Hag Graef

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Calisson »

I didn't think about the STank & corpse kart indeed.
I like to play as logical as Fantasy can be, and a STank or a corpse kart, having no beast inside, should not be liable to Beasts attribute either.

Note that ruling the COB & BwS to be liable to Beast attribute due to being chariots is certainly possible, it is just that it was contrary to fluff, and the sentences I quoted above allowed us to back up the fluff.
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}
User avatar
Dalamar
Dragon Lord
Dragon Lord
Posts: 9675
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: Designing new breeds of Dragons

Re: Druchii.net DE AB FAQ discussions

Post by Dalamar »

The point was, if we were to write an FAQ for Empire and Vampire Counts, we'd probably say that Steam Tank and Corpse Cart aren't affected by Beasts Magic attribute either.
7th edition army book:
Games Played: 213
Games Won: 114 (54%)
Games Drawn: 33 (15%)
Games Lost: 66 (31%)

8th Edition army book W/D/L:
Druchii: 36/4/16
Post Reply