Sacrifical Dagger

Have a question about the Warhammer rules? Ask them here!

Moderator: The Dread Knights

Post Reply
User avatar
Lord Drakon
Malekith's Best Friend
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Delft

Sacrifical Dagger

Post by Lord Drakon »

Just a small question, as it looks OP how I read it RAW.

Can I use the dagger for every spell I cast ? So for example I cast 4 spells in a phase, I can generate 1 PD for every spell with the dagger, resulting into extra 4 PD in the total phase, which is huge? Ofcourse a lot of spearman will have to die, but that won't be of any concern.
User avatar
Daeron
Malekith's Best Friend
Posts: 3907
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Location: Belgium, Brussels
Contact:

Re: Sacrifical Dagger

Post by Daeron »

Yes, that is correct. It was hideously powerful in the previous edition where it needn't the 4+ to get the PD.

It gets funnier in combination with power of darkness on a level 4, who has 66% chance to get it on a single PD and the sac dagger makes that 97%.
Then comes the fun.
- Word of Pain unboosted, with 1 PD has 50% chance. With the Sac Dagger about 92%.
- Bladewind as well
- Black Horror gets 62.5% on 3 dice.. But that Sac dagger can raise that to 90%.
So, by keeping just 1 dice for Power of Darkness at the end, you might still end up getting a "second" magic phase at the cost of a small spearmen unit.

It used to be even more powerful, in 7th, when it yield d3+1 dice, needed only 1 sacrifice for the power dice and both spearmen and dark magic spells were cheaper. :)
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze
User avatar
Red...
Generalissimo
Posts: 3729
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 3:09 pm
Location: Baltimore

Re: Sacrifical Dagger

Post by Red... »

Yes. Although sacrificing a model does not necessarily guarantee you an extra power dice and it can sometimes take two or three or more to generate the extra dice. So, for your four spells, you could on a bad day end up wiping out 10 or 15 models in a single magic phase. That can actually deplete your "reserves" (the bunker unit) pretty quickly.
"While all answers are replies, not all replies are answers. So answer the question."

Don't be a munchkin?

Image

I am an Extraordinary Druchii Gentleman
User avatar
Lord Drakon
Malekith's Best Friend
Posts: 1026
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:25 pm
Location: Delft

Re: Sacrifical Dagger

Post by Lord Drakon »

I used it today. Wow.. It generated around 3 - 4 power dice every phase in return for a total 15 dreadspears.
User avatar
Praetorian1979
Corsair
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 4:10 pm
Location: Denmark - Aalborg

Re: Sacrifical Dagger

Post by Praetorian1979 »

I actually have a quick question regarding the dice generated.

I use one dice to cast a spell with a cast value... say.. 7+ with a level 2.

I roll a 1, which is a auto fail of the cast, can the sacrifical dagger "save" that, since I will be casting another dice to boost the value ?
Walk in the light and live not in fear. For We are brothers, our blood ligates us and holds us to our deeds.

Pictures of my little dark elves army: http://s195.photobucket.com/user/xPraet ... /Warhammer
User avatar
Daeron
Malekith's Best Friend
Posts: 3907
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 7:36 pm
Location: Belgium, Brussels
Contact:

Re: Sacrifical Dagger

Post by Daeron »

Yes.
I love me a bowl of numbers to crunch for breakfast. If you need anything theoryhammered, I gladly take requests.

Furnace of Arcana, a warhammer blog with delusional grandeur.

"I move unseen. I hide in light and shadow. I move faster than a bird. No plate of armour ever stopped me. I strike recruits and veterans with equal ease. And all shiver at my coldest of whispers."
- The stiff breeze
Post Reply