ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

Have a question about the Warhammer rules? Ask them here!

Moderator: The Dread Knights

Post Reply
User avatar
toots
Beastmaster
Posts: 334
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:25 pm

ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

Post by toots »

Hi -

hypothetically, what if your opponent rolls two 1s and two 6s when casting a spell on a unit with the ring of hotek? the rulebooks overrule the BRB of course, but an opponent might argue that the rolls cancel?


cheers,

toots
User avatar
Calisson
Corsair
Corsair
Posts: 8765
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Hag Graef

Re: ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

Post by Calisson »

toots wrote:the rulebooks overrule the BRB
ditto
Winds never stop blowing, Oceans are borderless. Get a ship and a crew, so the World will be ours! Today the World, tomorrow Nagg! {--|oBrotherhood of the Coast!o|--}
User avatar
Haagrum
PhD in Dark Magic
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 11:54 am
Location: The depths of the Black Library

Re: ring of hotek - rolling 1s and 6s simultaneously

Post by Haagrum »

Jut to clarify - the wording on the Ring of Hotek is very specific. The last line of the item description states "Miscasts caused by a roll of double 1 do not benefit from irresistible force." Applying the "army books > BRB" principle, that

If you have any issues with someone challenging that interpretation, then you could respond that if it wasn't meant to have that effect, the item's effects would not have included the last sentence. If that was the case, there would be no additional effect in the scenario presented by the OP - but that isn't how the item's rules are worded.

/captainobvious
"The wrath of a good man is not to be feared. They have too many rules."

"Good men don't need rules. Today is not a good time to find out why I have so many."
Post Reply