As far as I understood, and the way we've been playing, is that when someone declares flee and you pursue, you both roll off, and if you roll high enough to catch him, he is simply removed (before moving) and you move the distance of his flee roll and figure out where you end up (behind other units, obstacles etc).
Rolling off is ONLY done after a filed break test. There is a table on page... (around page 20)... don't have the book with me. Lower left corner, with a digram, concerning steps in the charge phase. Follow it to the letter and you should understand what GW meant in the description of the charge sequence.
A unit charges, you declare a reaction.
If you hold, you both do nothing, and your opponent may declare his next charge.
If it is stand and shoot, roll the dice to hit, wound exc., if caused panic, make the LD panic test, if charging unit fails, your opponent moves the once charging now fleeing unit accordingly. And your opponent may declare his next charge.
If you declare a flee, opponent must decide if he tries to redirect, if so must pass a ld, if he passes you roll the distance for your flee, and move the unit in the appropriate direction, and your opponent gets to declare a new charge.
If he fails the redirect LD test, you roll the distance for your flee, and move the unit in the appropriate direction. And your opponent may declare his next charge.
The charging player does not roll any charge distance or move his unit until he decides that he is not going to declare any more charges. Once he declares this, he chooses which unit's he is charging, rolls dice, moves and chooses the next unit.
If that is not the case (seeing that I'm the only one raising a point about it), doesn't it create an huge advantage for the fleeing unit (since it can pass through obstacles, blocking terrain and other units) and the pursuing unit can't?
Yes fleeing units are in a better position, but a cost. Since they are now fleeing, and every unit that declares a possible charge makes them flee further. I have seen unit's flee a total of around 60" to flee of the board, do to multiple flee rule.
In the no.1, double flee, if both DR units roll 2 for their flee roll, first unit ends up behind the other and is safe, then the other one ends up behind the first one and is safe as well (completely irrelevant of what the pursuing unit rolls for pursue?)
Yes that is correct.
Also known as Kanadian