BSB and General

How to beat those cowardly High Elves?

Moderators: Layne, The Dread Knights

Lodoss1980
Slave (off the Altar)

BSB and General

Post by Lodoss1980 »

Hi All,

I am very new to the dark side of the elves. The last couple of days I have been looking at a lot of army lists.
However I am not really sure what our 'normal' BSB and Generals are and how they are used (placed and equipped etc.).

Can someone enlighten me?

Thanks a lot!
Amboadine
Miscast into the Warp
Miscast into the Warp

Re: BSB and General

Post by Amboadine »

Hi. First thing we would need to know is do you want a fighty lord or a sorceress for your general and at what points level, as these make the difference in what I would purpose.

BSBs typical come in the form of a fully armoured master on a steed or pegasus, occasionally on foot. Generally with a ward save of some kind, depending on the points value. Don't see many people using the magic banner option.
Thraundil
Malekith's Best Friend

Post by Thraundil »

A universally strong and versatile BSB - at most points levels - is the cloak of twilight + dark pegasus combo. He checks in at 213 points; steep for some games, but the heroes selection is one of the very strong points in our book. He is highly mobile, hits like a TRUCK on the charge, and competes with only warriors of chaos characters on his ranged ward save. If you can take him, take him. Almost always. He gets to pick his own fights, and those that he picks he wins.
In general; keep the BSB close to your important lines of battle. If you expect a LD test, have him nearby. I once lost a game in turn one because my lvl 4 was out of BSB range, failed a LD test and was turned into a herald of nurgle, essentially breaking my entire right flank.