Helping the Tau

All aspects of Warhammer 40K, from general discussion through to army lists, tactics etc etc.

Moderators: Drainial, The Dread Knights

Mrdark12
Shade

Helping the Tau

Post by Mrdark12 »

Hey guys,
I've been gaming 40k for nearly three years (wow, has it been that long) and I am an avid Tau player with a Deathwing army on the side.
I have been fairly successful with my Tau beating most of the Marine armies, Nids and Eldar but I am still struggling, was wondering if anyone can give me some tip on beating armies like Mech-guard or Dark Eldar and if anyone else here plays tau as a main army.
Thanks guys.

My normal army list is:
Shas'El with Targeting array, PL, BC and Multi-tracker
3 Crisis battlesuits, 3 PLs, Fusion blaster, missile pod, BC and 3 multi-trackers
3 Crisis battlesuits, 3 PLs, Fusion blaster, missile pod, BC and 3 multi-trackers
8 FWs with Shas'Ui, Devilfish, Targeting Array, Multi-tracker, D-pod
8 FWs with Shas'Ui, Devilfish, Targeting Array, Multi-tracker, D-pod
3 Broadside battlesuits, Team leader, 3 target locks, drone controller 2 Shield drones
3 Broadside battlesuits, Team leader, 3 target locks, drone controller 2 Shield drones
Last edited by Mrdark12 on Thu Apr 05, 2012 3:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ataroth
Dark Rider

Post by Ataroth »

Wait and pray for a new army book soon. :p

In all seriousness though, if you're managing to do alright and fairly successful with them then that's probably as far as you can get. They are well known for being one of the weakest armies in 40K right now and with Mech Guard being incredibly strong anyway you'll struggle. All I can suggest is doing what Tau do best, trying to out gun your opponent. The DevilFish tactic is still quite effective against more assault based armies.
"Submit To Self Destruction"
Kabbala
Warrior

Post by Kabbala »