DE in Space, Dark Eldar help!

All aspects of Warhammer 40K, from general discussion through to army lists, tactics etc etc.

Moderators: Drainial, The Dread Knights

Sulphunet
Dark Rider

DE in Space, Dark Eldar help!

Post by Sulphunet »

I just started playing 40K, and naturally I went with Dark Eldar. But I'll be facing Blood Angels and Space Wolves all the time, and my opponents both love using tanks and extremely heavy melee units.

Now I know DE are melee oriented, that part is obvious. But I don't want to face Sanguinary Guard, Death Company or the Space Wolves in general in combat. Unless it can't be avoided. So, I need some help.

I'm going to field some Scourges, just for the heavy weapons. All my Warrior units have a Dark Lance and Blaster, and I plan to field some Bloodbrides just because of how nasty they are.

And I don't want to be completely cheap, so no Blasterborn in Venom for me. Instead I plan to put 4 Incubi and a Haemonculus with Webway Portal in the Venom that will have Deep Strike.

That's my basic idea so far, plus an Archon and some Hellions. Suggestions?
Success is measured in blood. Either yours, or your enemy's.

Setomidor
Malekith's Best Friend

Post by Setomidor »

I have a brooding Dark Eldar army too but so far I've never had a game in (too much Fantasy and Blood Bowl!).

Some very general advice is that 40k 6th edition is just 10 days away, so whatever advice you get now might be void in less than two weeks from now. The new edition might change what's good and bad entirely, so in your position I would just focus on getting a HQ and a pair of troop choices ready and wait with everything else until the new edition has settled down a bit.
Sulphunet
Dark Rider

Post by Sulphunet »

Ah, but my game is next Wednesday and we won't be worrying about 6th edition until after that.

Kabbala
Warrior

Post by Kabbala »