[PLOG] Catrine's Paledrake Asterism

Discover the age-old techniques of painting...

Moderators: Layne, xFallenx, cultofkhaine

Forum rules
Remember that picture file size should be no larger than 256KB.
For the full Painting and Modelling rules, visit [url]http://www.druchii.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27440[/url]
Catrine
Trainee Warrior

[PLOG] Catrine's Paledrake Asterism

Post by Catrine »

Heya, I'm new to this little forum, and fairly new to collecting Dark Elves, only starting now that AoS is more settled really.

I have been doing miniature games for a while however, starting with 40k and Warhammer, plus some other miscellaneous stuff, though really I'm more of a painter than a general:

Basically I started 40k many years ago, with Tyranids, but I'm not a huge fan of how that game plays of late, then I jumped over to 8th edition WHFB with Ogres, on account of being fairly easy to convert up some more appropriate gender ratios, I would have started with Dark Elves then, but Ogres were cheaper in a game focused on large unit sizes.

Then AoS shook things up, it's maybe not the smoothest game in the world, and certainly not the most balanced, but I find it surprisingly fun and I love the way it makes some of the less popular units and models more than just shelf warmers.

---

Anyway, this is going to be something of a blog for my elves, or aelves, I guess, this first post is probably gonna be really heavy on the images, hopefully that's ok.

I used Bleakswords to test my scheme out:

My bases are normally a little plain, so I went with something a little more involved this time round with your classic corkboard and PVA lava-land.

A Dreadlord and Sorceress:

I normally aim for coherent schemes, especially for armies which have a lot of different model types or styles, in this case I'm doing up all the various monsters and creatures as pale albinos, like these Cold Ones: